55 Comments
- takamalak, on 10/12/2007, -1/+13Can you suck so bad that your own server turns against you?
- charginw, on 10/12/2007, -0/+9now shows:
"Does anyone know where this "company" is located? Seems like the antics of a shady Russian/Israeli/Eastern European company, right down to the lame message replacing their front page." - forgetmenots, on 10/12/2007, -0/+6To everyone who sees this an not diggworthy:
You kind of had to be there.
You know, earlier today when diggers noticed supergu as a copy-cat site without giving digg any credit.
I say, rightfully done! - inactive, on 10/12/2007, -1/+7It's _not_ just another clone, its a flagrantly blatant ripoff. They literally copied digg's entire layout, right down to the color scheme. The absolute LEAST they could've done was thank them when they listed where they got their "inspiration".
Does anyone know where this "company" is located? Seems like the antics of a shady Russian/Israeli/Eastern European company, right down to the lame message replacing their front page. - Ghozt64, on 10/12/2007, -0/+6Out of bordem I just called the # listed in their Whois (949-400-1195) to see if they would comment, it just took me to their voicemail.
- Disparity, on 10/12/2007, -1/+6The site is clearly just trying to get attention. Don't help them by digging it up.
- inactive, on 10/12/2007, -0/+5here is another of his websites sporting digg's theme: (he's frantically deleting things so HURRY!
http://www.flickboy.com/images/sg4.jpg
http://www.flickboy.com/ - Toniee, on 10/12/2007, -0/+5Well who put the digg ship there? thats funny.
- Sarevok9, on 10/12/2007, -0/+4Confusingly enough their webmaster changed the frontpage to reply to the people posting comments here.... odd huh?
- fatdog789, on 10/12/2007, -0/+4That's illegal and could get you into a lot of trouble.
- phoenix96, on 10/12/2007, -0/+4Somebody has avenged Digg.
Step forth oh mighty vigilante! Actually don't, you might get into trouble. - ABadInAlbany, on 10/12/2007, -1/+4James Phelps & Susan Phelps, Orange County Realtors®
Donovan Group Realty
2920 Newport Blvd., 2nd Floor
Newport Beach, CA 92663 - shinynew, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2@fatdog789
what useing whois or email? - DeathfireD, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2lol its funny how this project is really old and people are just noticing it now. The theme was made far before the new digg layout even came out.
BTW. the files where up for download months ago so if any of you knew about the project you could plainly see it was no rip-off of digg. In-fact the original theme 3dkiller had been working with his designer was made for Pligg (another open source digg clone) but he ended up switching from pligg to Meneame's engine. - Xolt, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2I haven't ever been to the site but it seems that they just took the site down without notice. It tends to happen with "look-a-like" sites a lot. They'll probably be back, look very familiar to last time, just probably not trying to look too conspicuous. I mean hell, would the first thing any website administrator do is put up a link to a digg post? I know I wouldn't, especially without explanation on my own site first...
- funkychunk, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2Owned.
- mastershake1, on 10/12/2007, -2/+4Wow, a site is either hacked or brought down after a bunch of attention whoring Diggers whine about it. The only thing that would make this story more typical of the Digg mentality would be if a bunch of attention whores made posts telling the whole world that they Dugg or buried the article, because everyone really cares when someone says "DUR DUR BURIED AS INACCURATE."
This site is hillarious. It's just hitting the average Digger's hot buttons and you people are falling for it. - forgetmenots, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2This might clear up how this is now on digg's front page:
http://digg.com/tech_news/If_You_Copy_Digg_At_Least_Thank_Them - inactive, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1Hah! They finally acknowledged that the site was "insipred" by digg. Was that so hard, sweetheart? ;p
- kbeeveer46, on 10/12/2007, -1/+2Okay, this is enough. I think it's blatant now that this stuff is on purpose because they're just trying to get attention.
- Ademan, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1On the contrary, i think the attention it got from digg is probably why i'ts been hacked
- eliburford, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1That was quick, I only just read the story about them copying digg.
- nerogtr, on 10/12/2007, -1/+2Seems like they put a lot of effort into making site that clearly has no potential for growth or profit. Who wastes their time on ***** like this?
- theDevilsDue, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1Only if posting the info to intimidate or harass
- diffusio, on 10/12/2007, -2/+3all the images/files on the server seem to be deleted.
- jswanner, on 10/12/2007, -1/+2@aitzim
you must have the site cached on your machine, b/c it is not working. - inactive, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1Isn't Pligg also based on Meneame?
- qwertycopter, on 10/12/2007, -1/+1If we digg-effect their server, and there are no visible ads for revenue, will they be stuck with a huge bill for all the bandwidth? LoL
- projektmayhem, on 10/12/2007, -2/+2you can copy digg all you like, but digg has a community & reputation. and that community will clearly stand by digg in the face of unimaginative idiotic websites out there purely for profit.
hacker overlords, i bow to thee. - octopi, on 10/12/2007, -9/+9i for one welcome our hacker overlords.
- inactive, on 10/12/2007, -2/+2Supergu is based on Meneame. What is Meneame? It's a project written from scratch by an Argentinan guy who wanted to do a Digg clone for the Spanish world. Nothing wrong with that. Then, he takes the code and makes it open source. Nothing wrong with that. And what comes with open source? That anyone can take the code and do with it as they please. If the Meneame guy isn't upset (and if you read this http://meneame.wikispaces.com/Clones-en you'll see he isn't upset at all), then why do Digg users care so much that Supergu is yet another Meneame spinoff?
Anyone who cared to do some research would see that this has been blown out of proportion. Another Digg clone based on Meneame. Something that has been done over 100 times. The difference? That Supergu showed up in TechCrunch and made it to Digg's front page. - CherryTzors, on 10/12/2007, -1/+1I, for one, welcome our new server masters.
(first time I've used that "fad") - Snap256k, on 10/12/2007, -1/+1pwned
- stalefries, on 10/12/2007, -2/+1Email: thehomefindingcenter@yahoo.com
- Runny, on 10/12/2007, -4/+3Not a mirror, but TechCrunch has a screenshot:
http://www.techcrunch.com/2007/01/11/suggestion-if-you-copy-digg-at-least-thank-them/ - kbeeveer46, on 10/12/2007, -4/+3what the *****? How did this make the front page of digg? The owner of a site takes the site down and it makes the front page of digg these days??
- menatas, on 10/12/2007, -2/+1anyone got a mirror of the original? i wanted to check the layout
or was the supergu.com digg story a hoax? - Irco, on 10/12/2007, -2/+1no is not b/w limit it was neither hacked....somebody is just redirecting the traffic, the content is still there.
- nerogtr, on 10/12/2007, -2/+1fyi: in case i was misunderstood: i was insulting the original non-hacked supergu, not questioning the "diggworthyness" of this story.
- sarcasmo, on 10/12/2007, -1/+0this supergu site looked very nice, I'm thinking in create a clone of his site, I hope they don't bother, of course I'll credit them!
- aitzim, on 10/12/2007, -2/+1It was working. Initially, only the homepage was "hacked" while the rest of the site functioned properly. Shortly after USEFUEL's links to the images was the rest of the site taken down. Times like these I wish I took a screen capture. But really, who cares?
I still can't believe people are digging this. - inactive, on 10/12/2007, -4/+2Here is the link to their forum discussion of this issue...
http://www.supergu.com/forum/showthread.php?t=277
and a link to their gallery of all the images that they claim are "their own work" and not diggs:
http://www.supergu.com/gallery.htm - thetanbark, on 10/12/2007, -4/+2Hacked site screenshot as of 3:40 EST: http://img165.imageshack.us/img165/158/superguhackeddh5.png
- inactive, on 10/12/2007, -5/+3Zomg he's quoting us, say something witty, fast!
- t-readyroc, on 10/12/2007, -3/+1I don't think that someone would hack it, then leave a link to a story about it possibly getting hacked on the same site where you find comments advocating hacking it... My bet's that they were either at or nearing their b/w limit b/c of all the digg traffic.
- palmer, on 10/12/2007, -12/+9WTF is "supergu"?
Who cares. Buried as lame. - StaticVector, on 10/12/2007, -5/+1When idiots like this think they are awesome opossums is when you whois their domain and have a little bot sign them up for every crazy marketing service on the web. Sadly, he used a PO Box, but at least his telephone number is there
http://whois.domaintools.com/supergu.com - mikedell, on 10/12/2007, -5/+0You guys who spend your whole day lusting over digg owners dick, and living in your moms ***** basement please take my advice..... Get a life! You people are truly some of the saddest ***** idiots ive ever seen.
- inactive, on 10/12/2007, -8/+3It's not hacked, the rest or most of their site works, just not the main page. Most likely because of all the exposure and/or all the lamers that would spam it. Just another clone, move along.
-
Show 51 - 55 of 55 discussions



What is Digg?
The Digg Toolbar for Firefox lets you Digg, submit content, and keep track of Digg even when you're not on the Digg site. Download the official