Sponsored by Dragon Age: Origins
Join the Dragon Age: Origins development team on Facebook view!
facebook.com/DragonAgeOrigins - EA presents BioWare's new dark fantasy epic Dragon Age: Origins. '9/10' from Game Informer.
174 Comments
- inactive, on 10/12/2007, -6/+242That layout is soooo web 1.0
- inactive, on 10/12/2007, -7/+163http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fibackups.net%2F
BUSTED! - beelz, on 10/12/2007, -2/+84i remember when that happened to suprnova
- Haroldx, on 10/12/2007, -1/+82Ah, the redness burns
- monarchista, on 10/12/2007, -0/+81Whois on it says:
OS: unknown
Server: Sun-ONE-Web-Server/6.1
Last changed: 10-Sep-2006
IP address: 149.101.1.51
Netblock Owner: US Dept of Justice
Hope it won't get the digg effect ;) - inactive, on 10/12/2007, -7/+84Where's the silly Flash ad where you could punch GW Bush and win a prize on that page?
- Hootyea, on 10/12/2007, -9/+83This looks just like the page I get when I try to look up porn on my University's wifi. The kinky *****, fo nizzo.
- Dinges, on 10/12/2007, -2/+71Your IP address (194.78.133.230) has been logged!
A SWAT team is on their way.
Have a nice day, - inactive, on 10/12/2007, -0/+66They found them in 1998
- scrubadub, on 10/12/2007, -4/+62@rub3x
except they're using css. So yeah it's gotta be fake, the gov doesn't know css - SirNuke, on 10/12/2007, -0/+40Interestingly enough, the site doesn't satisify the Government's 508 accessibility quidelines.
http://fae.cita.uiuc.edu/report.php?id=w45042fb4db587&pc=1&type=page&pageid=1 - LegendarySock, on 10/12/2007, -2/+39dare you to port scan their ip
- coolspray, on 10/12/2007, -7/+43What if those 1's and 0's belong to someone else?
- ScionX, on 10/12/2007, -2/+37Their website developer should be fired.
- Klisk, on 10/12/2007, -0/+34My god, even their jpg's have the "vaseline effect". Something that was eliminated like.... Um.... How many years ago? Jeez.
I can imagine them being so proud of it, too, as if they were amazing web developers. "Gee Bob, great work! That looks like real internet!" - EmileVictor, on 10/12/2007, -1/+34Yes, it's real - it is on www.BuysUSA.com too (software pirate who got busted). Very geocities-esque.
- b-dizzle, on 10/12/2007, -1/+33I don't care that it's Web 1.0, but "ALL CAPS"? C'mon FBI, that's just unprofessional.
- Agret, on 10/12/2007, -3/+34It's pretty dumb to send someone to prison for 10 years for stealing a clump of atoms
- mrASSMAN, on 10/12/2007, -0/+31http://ibackups.net/fbiseal.gif
The image was not embedded properly. They used html in order to shrink the image instead of using an actual smaller image.. - Hootyea, on 10/12/2007, -0/+30Are you on crack?
This guy illegally stole software, and then he sold it! How is that Orwellian? That's exactly what the FBI is supposed to do. It's not controversial like Torrent sites which just host the .torrent files, not the files in question. This guy broke the law.
And ***** you, you quoted something from the Ultimate universe. Amazing and Uncanny are the eras that were worth anything. - amoirae, on 10/12/2007, -1/+29How amateurish.
- phenolholic, on 10/12/2007, -5/+32stupid comment. if you want to get to fundamental levels like that, then all living creatures are merely carbohydrates, amino acids, fatty acids, and nucleic acids. *****, every matter is merely (and mainly) protons, electrons, and neutrons. breaking things down to fundamental level shows lack of logic in the bigger picture.
- Bigbro69, on 10/12/2007, -1/+26I think the very first thing they taught us in Web Design class was that red is a terrible background color.
..Point proven. - mindtrick, on 10/12/2007, -0/+25I wonder where did they find those crappy graphics.
- myheaditches, on 10/12/2007, -1/+24They also need a counter and a guestbook.
- monarchista, on 10/12/2007, -1/+23Here's the story: http://www.wired.com/news/wireservice/0,71756-0.html?tw=rss.index
- ajamer, on 10/12/2007, -1/+22Anyone else remember when it happened to ISONEWS?
The site was located at "iSONEWS.com" until David Rocci's house was raided by the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) on February 27th, 2003. The FBI targeted Rocci because he was selling modchips on the web site. The raid, ostensibly at least, had nothing to do with the fact that his site contained detailed releases (in the form of text files .nfo) by warez groups. Rocci gave up the iSONEWS.com domain name as part of his plea bargain. The legality of the domain name seizure is questionable as Rocci himself was no longer in ownership of iSONEWS.com when he offered to give it away. This infuriated many free speech activists.
For approximately one year following the seizure, visitors to iSONEWS.com were redirected to the United States Department of Justice Cybercrime.gov website. And as of November 16, 2004, the original domain, isonews.com, is owned by DomainSpa LLC and used to advertise video game sales and rentals. After the closure of the original domain name, a number of iSONEWS mirrors sprung up as a result, including izonews.com, theisonews.com, and stolemy.com, an expression of retaliation from the iSONEWS community caused by the Department of Justice's actions. The closure of the isonews.com domain brought more attention to the site, and after the site was back up on mirror sites, the membership and the user activity on the forums increased.
Other than being a release site for the warez community, it has evolved into a broader message board, concentrating mostly on PC gaming. It contains everything from rumors, news, hints, and tweaks to various games, and has a very helpful PC and console gaming community - jdivis, on 10/12/2007, -3/+24@IceDuck: Scare tactics. Just taking down a site doesn't send the message. "Bad Boys bad boys, whatcha gonna do, whatcha gonna do when they come for you..."
- ajamer, on 10/12/2007, -2/+23oh it's real
- intilli4, on 10/12/2007, -3/+24ROFL.... K back at the keys.... This is just funny if it does. DIGG ON!!!!!!!
- anagoge, on 10/12/2007, -1/+21The title of this article makes my head hurt.
- rspeed, on 10/12/2007, -2/+21That's it. From now on I'm blocking anyone who says "web 2.0"
- headzoo, on 10/12/2007, -1/+19Why do they go out of their way to use the site's original logo?
- Rayor, on 10/12/2007, -0/+18Wow. They use resized gifs. They should be shot for poor web design.
- clokwise, on 10/12/2007, -2/+20I'd digg this but I'm still too busy counting all the grammatical errors in the post's title: "How a Site Shut Down By FBI Looks Like?"
- ignition, on 10/12/2007, -0/+18Wow, I'm having flashbacks from 1998. All thats missing are some animated gifs, and a midi playing in the background.
- ignition, on 10/12/2007, -0/+17Tell that to netflix
- rspeed, on 10/12/2007, -1/+16"How a Site Shut Down By FBI Looks Like?"
How to write legible sentence?
Yes, I'm aware he's Polish and English isn't his first language. It still made my brain hurt. - person, on 10/12/2007, -0/+14http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://ibackups.net/
Here's the WebArchive backup of this site
Check June 15, 2004, and other dates... - jarvuss, on 10/12/2007, -1/+15I bet they don't make it discreet to try and make an example out of him. Especially with sites like these becoming a problem. Notice they even post his possible sentencing, ha ha. They want people to see that.
- Murphious, on 10/12/2007, -0/+14Wow.. So much for "web 2.0".. Bright red is not cool...
- saralk, on 10/12/2007, -1/+14And the second thing we learnt, was to break all the rules.
- cleverboy, on 10/12/2007, -1/+14Why would they be discreet??? A bunch of people were using the website to buy illegal software copies. When they go to the website again, what... should it say "Under new management! Here, search Amazon with our new affiliate code?"
"Also, we cannot stress the seriousness of our terms regarding our refund policy to our customers. Filing a chargeback or dispute with your bank will result in legal action against you." - March 15, 2005"
I remember reading that line when iBackups.net was actually still running. I could NOT BELIEVE the conversations on the newsgroups and messageboards with people repeatedly asking... "Are these guys legit?" CONSTANTLY!!! A friend of mine got spam from a company like this, and couldn't help asking me, "Are these guys legit?" Of course not!!! But you have big enuff nads to pull something like this, and suddenly everyone starts scratching their heads like its the Emperor's New Clothes all over again. "Maybe... maybe he's not naked. I-I think I can see it!"
AllofMp3.com - Tagline: Like Our New Clothes? We're not Warez at all. - fishsoda, on 10/12/2007, -0/+13portscanning is not harmful, but it is an indicator that the person performing the portscan intends to do harm and is looking for a vulnerability.
A portscan would get the attention of any good sysadmin. - coolspray, on 10/12/2007, -0/+13March 2005 gets interesting.
- adfsj, on 10/12/2007, -1/+13@stephenwq
AJAX? Why AJAX? Do they need dynamic content? I could imagine it now:
(checkbox) "Yes, I am still intrested in buying backup discs"
(form field)Name:
(form field)Address:
...Please Wait....
The Police should be at your door in approximately 37 minutes. - Beaver6813, on 10/12/2007, -0/+11Tutut, how are the visually impaired supposed to access this site using their text readers... no ALT tags, no document descriptors... Noones above the WC3 rules, Not even the government! :O
- strictnein, on 10/12/2007, -0/+10Yes, we should ignore all of our laws and only persue prosecuting a small subset of them! That almost makes sense.
This guy was doing some that was blatantly illegal and should be in jail. The fact that he thought he could get away with it is amazing. - BESTenemy, on 10/12/2007, -0/+10Getting a decent-looking site replaced with a retro web page that doesn't get updated for the duration of the prison sentene is actually a part of the punishment.
- cyssero, on 04/18/2009, -0/+10SuprNova, not SuperNova!
-
Show 51 - 100 of 175 discussions



What is Digg?