Sponsored by Travelzoo
102 Comments
- inactive, on 10/11/2007, -1/+22I'm assuming that people are getting the wrong answers due to the fact that they think they're hosting with ONE individual company, but more than likely, that company is associated with a much large business and they are merely resellers. This chain can go through one company or five and so on.
- Adrianc333, on 10/11/2007, -3/+20IT's easy to make.
Just get the IP/or Server Host from Whois.sc, and echo it.
Really simple, these have being around for years.
Bury > Ok, this is lame. - commiecat, on 10/11/2007, -0/+14Nice interface -- I still like Netcraft's complete site report better.
http://news.netcraft.com/ - superrad, on 10/11/2007, -3/+14it says my site is hosted with dot5. and it's not.
- paulmike3, on 10/11/2007, -2/+12The domain
Pownce
is hosted by:
AirlineReservations.Com
O RLY? - meshman, on 10/11/2007, -1/+10How many weeks do you have to wait for the page to return the result?
- cyberoidx, on 10/11/2007, -2/+9Slow, Stupid and Inaccurate!
- reconbot, on 10/11/2007, -0/+5apparently nobody is hosting this site...
- frant1c, on 10/11/2007, -0/+4Not true. This data cannot be retrieved in such a way for all TLDs. This tool is using 4 different methods of retrieving the results, and several different databases.
- Suplyndmnd, on 10/11/2007, -0/+4Digg effect? It kept returning websites I wasn't asking about.
- inactive, on 10/11/2007, -4/+8It got 5/5 wrong for me and my hosts..
- mzwaterski, on 10/11/2007, -0/+4I'm getting results quickly, they are just for some other site each time... I put in yyy.com and it returns the results for zzz.com...
- tbrodeen, on 10/11/2007, -1/+4The domain
buy.com
is hosted by:
Buy.Com
How incredibly useful! Think I'll be passing on this tool.. haha - cloudyprison, on 10/11/2007, -1/+4Loaded the first time, but didn't give me a result.
Digg Effect. - Xizer, on 10/11/2007, -0/+3http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Whois
Welcome to the early 1980s, Diggers! - gwjc, on 10/11/2007, -7/+10Nicely done!
- neoknight, on 10/11/2007, -1/+3you must have been a painful delivery.
- TheSolomon, on 10/11/2007, -0/+2Can't clear the cache fast enough? If it's overloaded, I could understand it breaking and not being able to display any data. But showing you the results meant for another user? That's just poor programming, regardless of high traffic.
- seefresh, on 10/11/2007, -0/+2Was WAAAAY off for me, never even heard of the company it gave me. I host all my sites on dedicated servers at softlayer.com
- gclef, on 10/11/2007, -1/+3Same for me...it says I'm hosted by "WDC Bridged Circuits." In reality, it's hosted on a machine in my house, run on my DSL line. The odds of them figuring that out are pretty slim, though.
- sirmasterboy, on 10/11/2007, -0/+2I would think this would not return softlayer becasue they arent the ones hosting the connection that runs your sites. They only supply the servers. They buy their internet from yet another company...
- Konstantino, on 10/11/2007, -0/+2Not really. For some odd reason, it likes to randomly change the URL of whatever I typed to a completely different site.
- sirmasterboy, on 10/11/2007, -0/+2Are you sure WDC Bridged Circuits doesnt own the DSL lines and ultimatly the bandwidth that is running the site. Thats what i thought this was supposed to tell you.
- m0d3s7m1k3, on 10/11/2007, -3/+5Not bad. I prefer SamSpade.org for more indepth details.
- str3ama, on 10/11/2007, -1/+3Ebaum's World is hosted by: http://whoishostingthis.com/linkout/?t=3&url=Co-Location.com [see there you go, send all complains over there]
I was going to use Church of Scientology, but apparently Xenu is hosting them. - rivostevo, on 10/11/2007, -0/+2Poor tool. All it does it reverse lookup the IP hence why you get a data-center result usually.
- cruxop, on 10/11/2007, -0/+1If you're not dealing with a company that owns/rents their own datacenter then you're being screwed. You're paying more to deal with a middleman with resellers rights.
- GenoBaby, on 10/11/2007, -0/+1If you're interested in building a particular type of site it can be good to see other websites that has similar content and see who is hosting them that way you can compare hosting packages. There are some sites that charges an arm and a leg if your site has a lot of video files while there is other sites that are better for hosting video files and therefore it may be cheaper... so this info can be valuable to some people.
- marcz, on 10/11/2007, -0/+1Smart ass.
- MajorSmall, on 10/11/2007, -0/+1same... apparently I'm "Vitalwerks Internet Solutions, LLC"
Second try on a different domain name (pointing to the same IP) gave me a more correct answer: "Optimum Online (Cablevision Systems)" - marcz, on 10/11/2007, -0/+1You people could give start ups a chance and help them improve instead of whining about how much they suck and how some other site is better. Email them and help them get better if you really care instead of acting like a smart ass here.
- omjeremy, on 10/11/2007, -0/+1Holy crap, hasn't everyone heard of WHOIS by now? I'm really surprised that this is actually being dugg. Wow.
- PRlME, on 10/11/2007, -0/+1The domain
WWW.MILFHUNTER.COM - sexual content warning
is hosted by:
Vitalstream Holdings - warnergt, on 10/11/2007, -0/+1This site is SPAM. It it totally inaccurate. They make up a host name. Then, if you click on it, they direct you to use their host.
- djrtitan, on 10/11/2007, -0/+1Can someone please explain to me why the University of Michigan Gateway is hosted by Ohio State?!
"The domain
University of Michigan: http://umich.edu
is hosted by:
University of Michigan Academic Affairs: http://oaa.osu.edu/speeches/Provost_Senate_Speech_05.php
" - angrykeyboarder, on 10/10/2007, -0/+1Quite lame.
For the real deal visit http://netcraft.com - jmeeter, on 10/11/2007, -0/+1The domain
Digg / News
is hosted by:
Digg Inc.
Now that was incredibly helpful! - frant1c, on 10/11/2007, -0/+1You, sir, have absolutely no clue how the net works, or what "whois" is. Whatever you think it is, this is not it.
- findhostcoupons, on 03/15/2009, -0/+1Domaintools are the best one!
- identifiedlogo, on 10/11/2007, -1/+2The domain
Demonoid.com
is hosted by:
Netelligent Hosting Services
I thought Demonoid owned its own servers - Hangender, on 10/11/2007, -0/+1The domain name cannot be resolved.
- slapthemonkey, on 10/11/2007, -1/+2Very well done!!
- devinjohnson2, on 10/11/2007, -1/+2This is nothing special, it's been on many tools including www.greatdb.com
- masscrazy, on 10/11/2007, -0/+1Con!
- xero9, on 10/11/2007, -1/+2Wow, says my site is hosted in NJ when really it's sitting in a data center in Toronto
- xadious, on 03/07/2008, -0/+1So where is Digg hosted?
- sirmasterboy, on 10/11/2007, -0/+1Sure they have their own servers... but the host of the connection and bandwidth isnt demonoid, they arent their own isp...
- NinjaBoy, on 10/11/2007, -0/+1No its hosted by "We are dealing with some DB issues. Please come back shortly. Thank you!"
- ahecht, on 10/11/2007, -1/+2Completely inaccurate. I have my own server which I keep in my house, but it said my site was hosted by "ThePlanet.com".
- knvb1123, on 10/18/2007, -0/+1Now, everything works fine!
-
Show 51 - 100 of 104 discussions



What is Digg?