53 Comments
- bonyicecream, on 10/11/2007, -5/+91I was just gonna say take a better picture than anyone else.
- newyawker, on 10/11/2007, -4/+58Easy. All you got to do is take a picture of a rocking chair on a porch, in the rain, in black and white, with a dusty baseball mitt sitting on the ground. So melancholy.
- hello2usir, on 10/11/2007, -14/+62Simply don't enter a photography contest and you're already a winner.
- Kyle0wnsyou, on 10/11/2007, -3/+33Horse head in judges bed as always worked for me and I refuse to do anything different.
- iSharQ, on 10/11/2007, -0/+14Hi there,
I just carefully checked their Terms and Conditions. The rules to this competition are perfectly safe, and are not photographer unfriendly. Specifically:
8) By submitting a photograph to this contest, the photographer confirms that he/she is the creator of the photograph, and is in legal possession of its copyrights. The photographer retains the copyright of the photograph.
11) By submitting a photograph to this contest, the photographer grants Crestock the rights to freely publish said image online or in other media in relation to the contest, without remuneration.
12) Photos submitted for the contest will not be entered into our image collection or re-sold in any way.
So basically, you keep the copyright, they reserve the right to use your photos in connection with the contest (which is fair enough, because otherwise they couldn’t even show them on their website), and they promise not to sell the photos on or do other nasty things with them.
I do laud you for checking this — if all photographers took a close look at the TnC’s, we’d have a lot less problems! - alevel27mage, on 10/11/2007, -2/+14Since Digg is a social BOOKMARKing site, I'd imagine that they're bookmarking it for later use.
- abid786, on 10/11/2007, -2/+14Duggmirror you noob.
- iDiggIt42, on 10/11/2007, -3/+14Apparently, though, they can not win a server stability contest...
- inactive, on 10/11/2007, -1/+11and while they're at it, can someone PLEASE sue www.picture.com ? (it's a fake photography contest that tries to get money from people)
- XedLos, on 10/11/2007, -3/+12http://duggmirror.com//design/How_to_win_a_photography_contest/plain.html
- Warpstone, on 10/11/2007, -0/+9Actually, Digg is whatever its user base makes it.
- iSharQ, on 10/11/2007, -0/+8That rule is fair enough, because otherwise they couldn’t even show them on their website! Note that it says 'in relation to the competition' - in all other circumstances, they can't use the photos for anything.
- MDrake, on 10/11/2007, -5/+12If by contest he means get a picture on the front page of Digg, all that it needs is 'Breasts' in the title.
- abid786, on 10/11/2007, -1/+8Your excessive use of the word "like" to mean "to say" confuses me greatly. :S
- troon, on 10/11/2007, -0/+5What, all of them?! Away with your spam. PhotoSIG is dead.
- iSharQ, on 10/11/2007, -0/+4Hey man, I'm a photographer and an editor, not a techie. Sorry! I got some help though, and it seems to be running properly now.
- DreKor, on 10/11/2007, -0/+4everything is possible with zombo.com
- ddegner, on 10/11/2007, -4/+7Realize that most of these photo contests, including the one the author is hawking, are rights grabs. Which means they hand out a few prizes to the top three people, then take everyone else's images and sell them for a few thousand dollars a piece, and you, the photographer will see none of it.
Respect your pictures. Take them for your own enjoyment. Be proud of them. Print them big and plaster them all over your walls, give them to friends as gifts, just don't enter these hack photo contests. No one wins. - DreKor, on 10/11/2007, -0/+2I found boobies in that article! But they're unadvertised boobies, so I'm not sure why this article made it to the front page.
- Twenty5, on 10/11/2007, -0/+2great reading. thx for the article
- spookyttws, on 10/11/2007, -1/+3Don't judge me!!
- inactive, on 10/11/2007, -0/+2I want that round 1 prize so bad... damn.
- inactive, on 10/11/2007, -2/+4btw, check this out:
http://www.picture.com/picturebuy/product_info.asp?ID=483995
A 250-page anthology, featuring that crappy photo.
Ok, now, change 483995 in the URL to 483994, 483993, 12345, 5993, or 6. You still get the same page. Endless Journeys is indeed endless! It features over 483000 photos in just 250 pages!
What's more, the ISBN listed is not registered :)
Please sue these stupid people for fraud. They get all these photos by running a fake "photo contest", and then try to sell an anthology under a nonexistent ISBN. They probably have 249 stocked pages and just change the last page to the one photo present in the URL you give, and leech your $69.95 for crappy photography. - slapthemonkey, on 10/11/2007, -0/+1Click the best pic.
- angusm, on 10/11/2007, -0/+1Superpotential wrote: "while they're at it, can someone PLEASE sue www.picture.com ? (it's a fake photography contest that tries to get money from people)"
The same people - Watermark Media Group - own 'www.poetry.com', which works the same way. Reportedly, they make their money selling books or trophies to people whose submissions have "won" (which is everyone who enters, of course). Their domains are also extensively advertised by spam.
Amusingly, if you look at http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/poetry.com you'll see dozens of one-line "reviews" saying "This site is good" ... followed by some rather longer reviews saying "These people are a bunch of crooks". Can you say 'astroturf' and 'sock puppets'? I knew you could ... - CosmicJustice, on 10/11/2007, -1/+2"thousands of dollars"???
Why does every photo hobbyist think pictures of their dog in the back yard are going to be worth a lot of money? - okto, on 10/11/2007, -0/+1Next time on Digg: How to prove which color is the best.
- neonenergy, on 10/11/2007, -2/+3Buried as inaccurate,
None of the pictures he liked won the contest :-( - alevel27mage, on 10/11/2007, -1/+2Dude... wtFFFFFFFFFF.
- jswaby, on 10/11/2007, -1/+2I'll read this in a bit because I entered a photo competition that I thought was judged incredibly fraudulently. Now that I have a better camera, and maybe with these tips, I can finally will a competition.
- paulocon, on 10/11/2007, -0/+1As said, always check the terms of these competitions as you could be handing the rights on your images over to those reponsible for the competition and they have been numerous stories of disgruntled photographers to draw on..
- Paul @ http://www.photographyvoter.com - latest, on 10/11/2007, -0/+0Those Who Want to Win photography contests. Check these Stunning Photography(News photos of 2007, so far) to how pros clicked.
http://curiousphotos.blogspot.com/2007/07/curious-photos-07-18-07.html - VanZant, on 10/11/2007, -3/+3His life must be filled with stress
- julianrod, on 10/11/2007, -4/+3Don't use drugs
(?) - Rescu3, on 10/11/2007, -3/+2Just hope you don't get wedding photographers as judges. Yikes.
- flag564, on 10/11/2007, -5/+3Want to win?
Take a cliched image. Just put up something that has been done a million times. It's just that easy.
Despite all of this high minded BS from the article, they just want simple, dumb, and easy:
Man looking out at ocean
Girl jumping rope
Old couple holding hands
Women walking through field in flowing sun dress
Flowers
Closeup of face with single blurry building in background
Just think like a stock photographer and you're golden! - abid786, on 10/11/2007, -6/+4lol. You made my day (even though it is only 46 minutes old as of now).
- JonestownTea, on 10/11/2007, -5/+2I hope I am not the only one who immediately clicked on this because I thought it said "How to Win a Pornography Contest." Certainly wasn't as great as it could have been, because it didn't make with the porn.
- penneyisok, on 10/11/2007, -6/+2"Since Digg is a social BOOKMARKing site"
Actual Digg is a social NEWS website. - DangerMouse9, on 10/11/2007, -4/+0or be the only one that enters.
- Night201, on 10/11/2007, -5/+1Boob alert - it's a nice one though.
In other news, I like the photos on http://www.photosig.com - demonotaku, on 10/11/2007, -8/+3That joke would have worked if I had a wife. But sadly, you fail.
- alittlebitmore, on 10/11/2007, -6/+0Dugg down. This is purely a shill message for Crestock. It probably violates Diggs terms of service.
Take note of rule number 11:
By submitting a photograph to this contest, the photographer grants Crestock the rights to freely publish said image online or in other media in relation to the contest, without remuneration. - demonotaku, on 10/11/2007, -8/+2Awesome. < 50 Diggs and the site is down.
- Night201, on 10/11/2007, -7/+1I like the photos on http://www.photosig.com
- tmyprod, on 10/11/2007, -9/+1Why are you people still digging this? The site has been down for a while.
- digh, on 10/11/2007, -9/+0"enhance" your photos with photoshop?
...someone had to say it. - Ocelot13, on 10/11/2007, -10/+1heres how to really win....
take a picture of someone winning something...so when the judges look at yours you can be like "see look, this is a winner, theres no denying it. hes not a loser...hes a winner"
they like have to give you 1st place, its like one of those by laws.... - Chakz, on 10/11/2007, -21/+4Am I the only one who misread the title as "69 scientists decide to photograph pornography contest of winners who write random digg comments" ?
- drouk1556, on 10/11/2007, -28/+5Cheat.


What is Digg?
Browsing Digg on your phone just got easier with our enhancements to the