The Digg Crew wants to hear your thoughts!
Please take our short survey about Digg and potential feature ideas.
SCAM ALERT - CRS - Central Registration Service is a SCAM - BEWARE
blog.jeremyandkelly.com — A company named CRS is sending out invoices in the amount of $966.00 for domain registration renewal. They invoice you for your domain name, and try to bilk you out of nearly $1000 with an official looking invoice, and payment instructions which include everything from a bank transfer to paypal payments. BEWARE!
- 23 diggs
- digg it
- balibones, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1Sometimes you have to wonder how stupid people really are. The sad thing is these scumbags are going to make a lot of money off a lot of dumb people. Now, is that justified by some social Darwinism argument, or should we feel sorry for them?
- BobcatGuy, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0Just to comment on Jer's blog on this scam, It saved me alot of time so thanks for doing all the PI work on this, I have a copy of my invoice to share with whoever needs to see it. I will be contacting some athority figures on this, if you need to see it I can be reached at Mike@BobcatGuy.com
- NerdWeasel, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0Just received one of these 'notices' today. Googled "central-registration-service" and found Jeremy's article. Nice work. LOL, he faxed them a penis size chart.
- tanamas, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0I receive this one this afternoon.
They send them out to international addresses as well.
This is what's printed on the envelope:
P.O. Box 343
22000 Praha 120
Rep. Tchegue
Their bank account is:
Loyal Bank Limited
Acc: 104003940306
SWIFT: LOYAVCVX
Their fax: 1-212-6278877
Email: support@central-registration-service.com
WHOIS: 'Protected'
Creation date: 12 Oct 2006 03:49:01
Expiration date: 12 Oct 2007 03:49:01
Registration Service Provided By: NameCheap.com (- Alexszwed, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0Hello,
I too received this scam.
To report any kind of internet scam go to www.ifccfbi.gov/index.asp This is the FBI compaint centre, and they will look into it. - bayramozektas, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0I have just received the same mail - invoice. All the details are same. They use the information that we give to business/trade directories on the internet to sell our products.
Please beware!
We are based in Konya, Turkey.
- Alexszwed, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0Hello,
- HangingBAT, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0Hi,
I am in Australia and just received this scam yesterday (11 December).
Thank you Rasputin89 for having this info available.
I had noticed a very strange order on my E-Commerce page and assume that is how they got my address.
I will report it to the relevant authorities here in Adelaide.
Hope they do not profit too much before they get shut down.
Rosie - SavannahSmith, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0My husband just came home with his "invoice" today.
I think I will send them a fake cheque.
We're in Canada. - theopoon, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0Our customers get these scam letters too, I was recieving at least 5 phone call support for these...
Do these scam bag really thinks people would send them their $$? - sheathe, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0Thanks for the post - one of our customers faxed us a copy of this scam letter too.
- Anthia325, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0We received the bogus invoice on Dec. 11, 2006. Our domain name was registered years ago(this is a doctor's office) and we employ a reputable company to maintain our website so red flags shot up. We thought, "What the hell is this bill?"
I'm with SavannahSmith. Send them Monopoly money.
We're in Hawai'i. - tanamas, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0I think this is the stupidest scam in 2006.
Within 24 hours after receiving their SPAM, their website has been brought down, and perhaps they are in jail already.
They don't relize that the internet itself which brings them to jail.
Maybe someone in New York can check this address:
CRS Corporation
1133 Broadway, Suite 706
New York, NY 10010 - clievers, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0Yes, our Company received one of these today. Fortunately we saw one a few weeks ago for our Partner company, so already discovered the scam. We are also in Canada, so these could be going anywhere.
- vishalwoollen, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0Unbelievable man. How these peoples can think we are fool. They have sent us same invoice for our website. (www.vishalgroups.org). Well, At the first point we must be careful. If we know that we don't have to pay then we are right. These peoples must be punished for such scams.
Anyways, Thanks to Digg.com as well.
Regards
Nitin Garg
Vishal Woollen Mills
India - Kiwikorean, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0Hi, and also thank you Rasputin89. I am in South Korea and just received this mail the other day.
They want me to renew my web site for $966.00 by sending the money to the Loyal Bank.
I will be contacting the Korean Fraud Office today.
Thank you again. - Suolucidir, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0This scam is great entertainment. A customer of our company received an invoice for $917 regarding their FREE hosting account.
The Digg Toolbar for Firefox lets you Digg, submit content, and keep track of Digg even when you're not on the Digg site. Download the official