Sponsored by Travelzoo
$45 & up: Huge Hotel Sale view!
travelzoo.com - Great discounts on rooms for the holidays and beyond!
32 Comments
- bennyshoham, on 01/07/2009, -0/+20their Whois record:
http://www.whois.net/whois_new.cgi?d=567gu&tld ...
Registrant:
Organization : su yue bian
Name : suyuebian
Address : shanghaipudongtangqiao19B
City : shanghaishi
Province/State : Shanghai
Country : CN
Postal Code : 361009 - altafsayani, on 01/07/2009, -0/+17The IP address of Digg and 567gu [fake Dgg] has same, which is 64.191.203.30
- DirectTulip, on 01/07/2009, -0/+14Hahaha :D You got me confused for a second...
However, that's not funny at all ... especially when you log into their site... - ignacious, on 01/07/2009, -0/+14I found another Digg clone:
www.reddit.com
It is crazy similar! - Tychee, on 01/07/2009, -0/+12Cool, now we can have popular articles on two places at the same time :) Just kidding of course :)
But they have a very bad domain name, you can see right ahead that it's a fake. - inactive, on 01/07/2009, -0/+11that's why i never use "made in China " products :D
- bennyshoham, on 01/07/2009, -0/+11the guy who told me about this is http://digg.com/users/pervezalammzn , thanks!
- bennyshoham, on 01/07/2009, -0/+9Very strange... Is this digg domain??? so what is this WhoIs record?
- bennyshoham, on 01/07/2009, -0/+8It now seems that this site and digg have the same information, It might be something Digg.com is doing themselves and not a scam. Can we have an official comment here please?
- ThinkBox, on 01/07/2009, -0/+6EXPLAIN THIS - http://tmpnetwork.com/
- DirectTulip, on 01/07/2009, -0/+5What do u use then?? :P
- inactive, on 01/07/2009, -0/+4"Not made in china" products ;)
- meghnascott, on 01/07/2009, -0/+4@ThinkBox - Thanks for bringing out another clone that's - http://tmpnetwork.com/
Since "altafsayani" pointed out that Digg and the claimed Spam sites have the same IP, i think that this is not a spam but an official but a hidden Digg page. May be Digg uses this or other similar sites (No one knows how many may they be) for auto-buries etc. May be this is what many call the "Digg Bury Brigade". - charm803, on 01/07/2009, -0/+3I twittered it to kevin rose.
Hope he gets it, but I might be on his sh!t list for pissing off feminist everywhere. - Totz83, on 01/07/2009, -0/+3What the hell, why has this disappeared from Upcoming?
- ansatsu29, on 01/07/2009, -0/+3Firefox blocked the site and citing:
Web Forgery.
Damn chinese. They will start imitating anything! - inactive, on 01/07/2009, -0/+3they are genius on forgery..all piracy things coming from China..even iphones!
- inactive, on 01/07/2009, -0/+3omggg..THEY ARE GENIUS. HUGE SALUTE FROM meh..!!
- bennyshoham, on 01/07/2009, -0/+2Only if you look at the address bar....
- nichesiteexpert, on 01/08/2009, -0/+2Not forgeries, just different domains that point to the same IP:
Digg.com: 64.191.203.30
567gu.com: 64.191.203.30
tmpnetwork.com: 64.191.203.30
So it's the same data across all three domains. These aren't forgeries, they are the original Digg. Digg a story in one, and refesh the others, and your Digg will be there.
As to why these exist: I sure would like to know. Kevin? - inactive, on 01/07/2009, -0/+2The can have but I don't understand it should have logged us automatically...
I wish If I have any fake digg account and I can use it there....:| - VectaSI, on 01/07/2009, -0/+2That is incredible. I can't believe what a blatant rip-off it is. Surely there are some legal issues there. This post needs to become the most dugg just to ensure everybody knows about it.
- inactive, on 01/07/2009, -0/+2I wish if any of the digg moderator will come down here and answer all this question and let us know what's actually gng on with this site,....
These are not only fake pages but a website where user can actually see there profile
Damn it even mine profile is there http://567gu.com/users/virgintech
..
@ - Cararan, on 01/07/2009, -0/+2WOW... thanks for the heads up.
- ralftom, on 01/07/2009, -0/+2thanks for the good info
- bennyshoham, on 01/07/2009, -0/+12 hours and 94 diggs later....
The story got buries, I guess not by users. Digg.com, please inform us of what the hell is going on. - justrasputin, on 01/07/2009, -0/+1http://tmpnetwork.com info:
"Registrant:
Digg, Inc.
300 Bel Aire Drive
Oakville, Ontario L6J1M1
Canada "
Bel Aire Drive? Hmmmm. - hitithard, on 01/07/2009, -0/+1Same IPs..."Digg Bury Brigade" ...You truly have a point here!
- OwdenBowden, on 01/07/2009, -0/+1Maybe they sold it to the Chinese?
- mquil, on 01/07/2009, -0/+1oh really itz amazing
- OwdenBowden, on 01/07/2009, -0/+1Nice catch!
- OwdenBowden, on 01/07/2009, -0/+1Yeah but 15 minutes after you go to the site your hungry again.
'
Either way Firfox has blocked it! Great catch!


What is Digg?