Sponsored by Guitar Center
When Heavy-handed Hints Fail--Guitar Center Wishlist Posters view!
guitarcenter.com - Cool personalized designs send a friendly reminder that a new Stratocaster would rock, thanks.
132 Comments
- ssttuu, on 03/15/2009, -1/+176If Google wants to download those torrents for me and flag the ones with spy ware, it will make my pirating much safer :)
- wikinerd, on 03/15/2009, -19/+142It's RIAA's fault. Has to be. Who else would want that
- aspec, on 03/15/2009, -0/+100TPB is not blocked, there is a certain ad provider that is being blocked. Refreshing the page will often fix the problem.
- greenleaflink, on 03/15/2009, -49/+122Well That doesn't seem right...are they gonna block this Digg article too?
When did we turn into China's Internet lol..."looks over shoulder" - kkthxbye, on 03/15/2009, -4/+71Did you even read the article green?
It's about add's which contain spyware, not about paranoia and internet censorship. - sockpuppets, on 03/15/2009, -1/+45Troll cat is trolling.
- twiztidsinz, on 03/15/2009, -1/+37Man.. only if you were thrown in jail for the rest of your live, WE'd be set.
- deadpixel, on 03/15/2009, -2/+37i'm not blocked...
- surfacewound, on 03/15/2009, -1/+34MPAA
- marksands07, on 03/15/2009, -1/+30even if you're anti-piracy, throwing them in jail for _life_ is a bit rash. A simple fine would be sufficient...
- smacksaw, on 03/15/2009, -3/+31So wait...TPB is hosting ads from latinoreview.com?
- tms8707056, on 03/15/2009, -0/+24Visiting a website is not illegal.
- punkcat, on 03/15/2009, -2/+26CONGRATULATIONS you have won a Nintendo Wii.
- pw378, on 03/15/2009, -2/+24No, its not. It TBP's fault for having shady advertisers that serve malicious ads that infect visitors.
- Wesside, on 03/15/2009, -0/+21it isnt blocked on google it just warns you that it may not be good for your computer, and "blocked" means you cannot get there.
Also, as of right now, I have no issues with firefox and tpb. And it isnt something that TPB did themselves, some third party has ad's that have malicious software built into them, theres little the TPB could do to actively prevent that before it causes an issue. - snatchmstr, on 03/15/2009, -0/+21Who is "we?" RIAA executives? Why would they throw these guys in jail? They haven't broken any laws in their own country.
- cameljoe, on 03/15/2009, -0/+19I got the same ***** trying to visit a bands myspace page. It's nothing but a bad ad. Which all sites are prone to.
- jameskong15, on 03/15/2009, -1/+18Some of the ads on TPB do try to drop files onto your computer (probably without permission of those who own/run TPB), be careful.
- Zpns, on 03/15/2009, -8/+25Yay for Adblock?
- pw378, on 03/15/2009, -2/+17It doesn't matter, TPB is serving the malicious ads to visitors and infecting them. TPB needs to screen their advertisers better and stop accepting money from fringe ad networks whose real business isn't ads, but building botnets.
- AZTriGuy, on 03/15/2009, -3/+16This happened on Safari as well. The main site is generally ok, when you do a search it comes up with the list of torrents and then suddenly there's a message inside the window (not really a popup) saying that the site is malware. Not a specific user on TPB, not a specific page, it seems to happen periodically on various pages within TPB.
At least, that's what I hear from . . . friends . . . I don't visit TPB myself, that would be illegal . . . yeah . . . - NinjaBoy, on 03/15/2009, -0/+13To be fair, there is a crap load of spyware and malware ads on torrent sites.
- orky7, on 03/15/2009, -0/+12its not google or firefox fault they r just giving warnings....... if u want to proceed u can proceed.......and they are actual threats dont u read the whole article..........
- Slade605, on 03/15/2009, -1/+13No... Google did not download the torrent and review it, they observed malicious code embeded in a website, or ad. They then flag the website as attacked so the site isn't blamed/slandered and the user is safe. If you would like to see this error try a site like Serials.ws (NSFW) or anything with .ws for a TLD.
- RobertJecl, on 05/30/2009, -2/+13I hope they fix this soon.
- AngelBunny, on 03/15/2009, -0/+9that is weird. i don't see any ads
- rccola71, on 03/15/2009, -1/+9RTFA...stupid knee jerk reactionaries!!!!!!!
- Cl1mh4224rd, on 03/15/2009, -1/+9> "I wish Firefox would require you to turn this 'feature' on!"
The majority of Internet-goers are unbelievably stupid. They probably wouldn't turn the feature on even if asked, so secure-by-default is the only way to go.
Besides, the few that feel they don't need it are more than capable of turning it off themselves. And don't complain about it being "too much work" and "inconvenient"; you're an extreme minority. Forcing the ignorant masses to exert a little more effort is, on the whole, an inconvenience that seriously outweighs the benefit of making a handful of people a little happier...
I honestly hope you, someday, understand what it's like "working for" large groups of people and not individuals. You clearly need the experience. - GMH24, on 03/15/2009, -0/+8if it isn't blocked by adblock, then just right click on it and block it.
- sickbag69, on 03/15/2009, -1/+9The user pages are blocked, *****
- funk1999, on 03/15/2009, -0/+7Have you actually read any of the comments on pirate bay? Most of them are people who can't figure out what to do with a .tar file. I think you greatly overestimate the intelligence of most of the users.
- Modiga, on 03/15/2009, -0/+7To be honest, it could just be a mistake. One of the URLs leading to the Steam community (www.steamcommunity.com) pages got flagged as being a phishing site recently, it was resolved fairly quickly, but does suggest the system Google uses is flawed, whether it's automated or just prone to user error on their staff's part.
- thecosmicpope, on 03/15/2009, -0/+7It has ***** all to do with the RIAA and MPAA. Google/Firefox block sites which are suspected of containing malware or other dangerous software. Unfortunately it is common for it to block legit sites every so often. This time it just happens to have blocked TPB. A swift email to Google (they have a system in place exactly for this) will get it unblocked.
- Trifold, on 03/15/2009, -1/+8You know what...if people don't know how to get around that, they probably shouldn't be torrenting anyway.
- chaoswings, on 03/15/2009, -0/+6I'm just waiting for someone to make an argument about sites making revenue from ads and ad blocking being unethical. Unlike TV commercials or billboards, ads on the internet can cause damage. Until a solution is found that prevents sites from filling up 60% of their page space with ads and can guarantee they are safe, I'm keeping adblock on.
This sort of thing happens far too often. - MidnightRIder77, on 03/16/2009, -0/+6Or you could, you know, stop bitching and just not click on their stories when they hit the front page. You have no obligation to read every front page story.
- mabsark, on 03/15/2009, -1/+7@pw378
I suggest you do some research. I just googled "malicious ads"
Here are the first 2 hits:
"Google's DoubleClick spreads malicious ads (again)"
"Malicious banner ads hit major websites"
Well, if google can't stop them, who can? - thatonekid393, on 03/15/2009, -2/+8conspiracy!
- jamiealves, on 03/15/2009, -0/+6so is TPB in essence?
- mabsark, on 03/16/2009, -0/+6tar file? A lot of them don't even know what a zip or rar file is.
- mabsark, on 03/16/2009, -0/+6@pw378
Well, I've never seen ads on TPB. I guess you're just a lying ***** and by your other posts, a RIAA shill. - kaasenwyn, on 03/15/2009, -1/+7Yarhh yeh be messing with d wrong treasure box matey!!!
- andreo, on 03/15/2009, -1/+6When the hell did Google stop being a search engine and start being the internet nanny?
- inactive, on 03/16/2009, -0/+5Your best bet is to delete SYSTEM32 from your hard drive.
- Schweppesale, on 03/15/2009, -0/+5google is an index, nothing more.
- pw378, on 03/15/2009, -1/+6Do you even have a ***** clue whats going on? Its not about blocking TPB, its about blocking the advertisers on their site which are serving up malware to visitors and infecting computers. ***** sake, READ!
- spiralspirit, on 03/15/2009, -0/+5because google has more money than god and a bunch of smart people to argue
- Loonacy, on 03/16/2009, -0/+5My personal favorites are the ones who download the .torrent file and then can't figure out how to run it.
- harlowsmonkeys, on 03/15/2009, -1/+6When you make your living from ads for sleazy porn sites, you are occasionally going to get flagged, since sleazy porn sites are a favorite place for malware distributors to try to infect people.
- spiralspirit, on 03/15/2009, -0/+5shore does
-
Show 51 - 100 of 136 discussions




What is Digg?