5 Comments
- bstory, on 08/29/2008, -0/+3Something similar happened to me yesterday and I spent hours looking for infected files only to find that I wasn't infected.
- jongnth, on 09/02/2008, -0/+1I think if anyone were to see this again it would be useful to send Digg some information on your basic info so they could track down the advertiser ie: OS/Browser/Adsize(if known). And if your savy enough to pull up a Firebug trace or at the very least the source code from the page. For Digg to remove this they will need at least this basic info to be able to locate a rogue advertiser, especially if a seemingly innocent looking ad is running the code to pull the Antifirus 2009 creative and subsequent popup.
- JeffBuzz, on 08/29/2008, -0/+1Its probably some simple JavaScript that runs whenever that ad is displayed. It can't do anything more that pop up that misleading add and direct you to their site. Still, it is very unethical. I can't image Digg will allow them to advertise on their site once they catch wind of this.
- joka86, on 08/29/2008, -0/+1This happened to me twice, the first time I thought it was me, but then it happened again a week later, I ran the removal tool also, but it found nothing. It has to be injected into the ads. Anyone else seeing weird sh*t like this? I also read this happened to Google's Adsense network.
- jongnth, on 09/15/2008, -0/+0Found after some research some information that may be the cause of this. Possibly a Flash vulnerability..............
http://cyberinsecure.com/malware-served-through-fl ...
Apparently many sites were affected by this (including Digg according to the article)



What is Digg?
Check out the new & improved