20 Comments
- diemonkey, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2Organization:
Apropos
Business Owner
26 Avenue Kleber
Paris, 75116
FR
Phone: +44 7788 718 770
Email: bizdev@peopleonpage.com
Registrar Name....: Register.com
Registrar Whois...: whois.register.com
Registrar Homepage: http://www.register.com
Domain Name: CONTEXTPLUS.COM
Created on..............: Thu, Jul 29, 2004
Expires on..............: Sun, Jul 29, 2007
Record last updated on..: Fri, Oct 21, 2005
Administrative Contact:
Apropos
Business Owner
26 Avenue Kleber
Paris, 75116
FR
Phone: +44 7788 718 770
Email: bizdev@peopleonpage.com
Technical Contact:
Apropos
Business Owner
26 Avenue Kleber
Paris, 75116
FR
Phone: +44 7788 718 770
Email: bizdev@peopleonpage.com
Zone Contact:
Apropos
Business Owner
26 Avenue Kleber
Paris, 75116
FR
Phone: +44 7788 718 770
Email: bizdev@peopleonpage.com
Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.CONTEXTPLUS.COM 64.246.54.62
NS2.CONTEXTPLUS.COM 66.98.174.16 - VnutZ, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1You can digg this: http://www.omninerd.com/2005/11/22/articles/43
for a better understanding on how those rootkits work, too. - CaptainBryan, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0Attack!
- Nicto, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0Where is this ContextPlus? Just asking, no malicious intentions, really. *crosses fingers*
- DoctorWhohaa, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0Although I am usually of the mind that vigilante justice generally only cures symptoms of a larger disease, I am oddly in agreement with Bromskloss on this one, having recently spent three hours repairing an XP install destroyed by spyware.
- coldsteel, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0The link doesnt appear to be working so I may be missing the context (pun intended) of the story but rootkits have been available through lots of underground sites and I've even seen "script kiddy" versions so how are they saying that these are coming from only one or two places when I could go to at least a half a dozen places to get the code?
- inactive, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0BTW, I'm not a linux fanboy, I also use DOS, QNX, BSD, and OS/2.
More secure than any version of wind0ze.
You are an idiot if you paid for it. - GMTao, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0Why is it always the French? :-)
- LawrenceDudley, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0I work at a computer shop and I have first-hand experience of the real damage that can be generated by spyware and virii. Still, the upside of it is that I get work out of it I guess...
- recover82, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0i probably missed this in the last weeks or so but there is a link from that article to another stating that the uninstaller from Sony leaves users more vulnerable? what the hell sony? no soup for you.
http://www.eweek.com/article2/0,1895,1887183,00.asp - LawrenceDudley, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0"Why is it always the French? :-)"
Funnily enough the phone number listed is a UK one... Weird huh? - teece, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0Who advertises with ContextPlus and these adware programs? I don't use Windows much, and have never had an adware infection, so I really don't know.
But the best way to combat this is to put the fear of god into the *advertisers.* If they are even semi-legit, that would be the most effective way to combat this. Make sure companies know that they will be considered crooks if they advertise via spyware. Hell, legislation to that effect might even be in order.
Because using adware to get your message out is at the very least unethical, and perhaps even illegal, and it's not just the adware writer that is the scumbag.
Of course, if all of the advertising is for some shady penis enlargement pills and mail order slaves, er brides, from poor countries, well then you can't go after the advertisers. - Bromskloss, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0Well, what are we waiting for? Let's get ourselves over there with something really dangerous.
- inactive, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0coldsteel
"I may be missing the context (pun intended) of the story but rootkits have been available through lots of underground sites and I've even seen "script kiddy" versions so how are they saying that these are coming from only one or two places when I could go to at least a half a dozen places to get the code?"
You are missing something, it's called "knowledge".
Try learning about how programs that you click on for cool cursors or toolbars have spyware/rootkits in them, like gator or tangent.
If you really want to know about the way the web works, install linux. Clicking on links with a mouse pointer willy nilly does not a smart user make. - supz, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0Quote from the article:
"Unlike the average worm or bot that use rootkit technologies to avoid detection, Hypponen said the rootkit features built into Apropos aren't being used to hide the existence of the program on the machine.
"They're using a very sophisticated kernel-mode rootkit that allows the program to hide files, directories, registry keys and processes," Hypponen explained in an interview."
So the first line is saying that this Apropos program is not trying to hide itself, then the second one says that they are using advanced methods to hide themselves? I haven't slept much, but this makes no ***** sense. Am I missing something? - teece, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0I think they're just making it really hard to delete, supz. It's a minor distinction, to be sure, but Apropos doesn't care if you know that their program is installed; they just don't want you to be able to do anything about it.
Whereas the average script kiddy would want total stealth. - inactive, on 10/12/2007, -0/+064.246.54.62
66.98.174.16
their dns numbers. - ManiacFive, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0"Funnily enough the phone number listed is a UK one... Weird huh?"
We're taking France back, one piece at a time, it started with the chunnel :-) - Erroneus, on 10/12/2007, -1/+0Somebody should DDOS http://www.contextplus.com back to the stoneage,
- jackspack, on 10/12/2007, -2/+0well? I am waiting for one of you little annoying sucks to start saying how insecure MS is and how much more secure linux is (get opera, firefox, it r0xr3s teh!)
before you do, remember, rootkits were bron out of *nix


What is Digg?