16 Comments
- backasswards, on 03/31/2008, -1/+4Big deal. It's not like Obama himself was personally in charge of website security. Just another sub-par hosting company. And even good hosting companies are subject to defacements.
- susieborn, on 03/31/2008, -0/+3BILL YOU ARE WRONG! This web address was given out in emails from the Barrack Obama campaign. I got one myself last week. The HOPE.NET address was much better to remember and I think someone even said it was on TV. Maybe it used to be owned by someone else since I think it's kinda new, like a month or two. But this is definitely an Obama site. I want to know why they're taking so long to fix it. I don't think this is the first time either.
- backasswards, on 03/31/2008, -0/+3The H.O.P.E. conference now uses thelasthope.org. Why do people (LanTao, billbradford) talk out of their ass when their are clueless?
- frankie764, on 03/31/2008, -1/+3Holy crap! That site was all over the Pennsylvania primary ads! "Hope For Change" indeed! Someone's gonna get fired over this. Did it hit the media yet?
- lurid, on 03/31/2008, -0/+2I also received the e-mails that Susie, saldb, and the rest of the world received. This makes me wonder if all the other domains he has purchased are going down as well. only time will tell.
- zetamajor, on 03/31/2008, -1/+3LOL! Just when I thought the race couldn't get any dirtier. I wonder if the hackers are working for Hilary on the down-low, or they just did it on their own.
- MacSuxWindozSux, on 04/01/2008, -1/+3I just surfed to Hillary's website?!?!? NOOOO!!!!
- AnneNoodle, on 03/31/2008, -1/+3omg! I can't believe they don't have better security.
- DragonGirl724, on 05/21/2008, -0/+1i ***** hate obama!
- kim3, on 03/31/2008, -1/+2Where did you hear this story? Does this mean that personal info. could be in someone elses hands? I hope not.I just donated via the barackobama.com website a few hours ago.
- saldb, on 04/03/2008, -0/+1hackers?
- drummerguy69, on 05/09/2008, -0/+0true, if you go to hope.net it redirects to the hackers on planet earth home page.
- saldb, on 03/31/2008, -1/+1I got the same emails susie got. i think the planet hackers people sold their domain. Doesn't obama have the highest campaign funding? He could afford it! Too bad he didn't have good security !!! lolz
- unixfg, on 05/23/2009, -0/+0hope.net. 10800 IN SOA phalse.2600.COM. root.phalse.2600.COM. 2008032900 3600 1800 604800 86400
- LanTao, on 03/31/2008, -3/+1hope.net was registered in 1994 for a conference, the last installment of which will be this year...
if Obama's campaign indeed printed flyers with a reference to this site on it, they don't need better security as much as they need proofreaders. - billbradford, on 03/31/2008, -4/+2LAME. The hope.net domain belongs to Hackers on Planet Earth (see wikipedia entry for H.O.P.E.)
This site wasn't "hacked", they just put up a fake Obama page.



What is Digg?
Check out the new & improved