125 Comments
- EggplantWizard, on 11/29/2007, -1/+66I'm not sure this qualifies as a "scam" unless personal information is being recorded and stolen /resold /etc. More like clever typo-squatting / affiliate marketing
- pmellyn, on 11/29/2007, -2/+66That doesn't make any sense to me. Why would you redirect form Facebook to Amazon, how often do you go crap I went to the wrong site, well I better buy something while I'm here...
- mokayogi, on 11/29/2007, -3/+66an't understand why people are so razy.
- amawg9, on 11/29/2007, -4/+58Step 1: create fake web page
Step 2: ???
Step 3: profit - krets, on 11/29/2007, -0/+42"I think I'll log into Facebook to check and see how my friend John is do... OOOOOO SHINY!!!"
- GvnMcCld, on 11/29/2007, -1/+42He's an amazon affiliate, he gets money for referring people to amazon to buy stuff.
- WaterDragon, on 11/29/2007, -1/+28Yeah...this story was out yesterday...on Dogg.com
and i just got a new Dill computer, with Microsift OS on it. - inactive, on 11/29/2007, -0/+24***** ONTO MY BROWSER?! OH NOES!!!!!
- Otto, on 11/29/2007, -0/+20You don't have to buy anything right then for him to get paid. That's the beauty of it. Amazon referral links connect your Amazon cookie to his referral. If you buy anything from Amazon for a week after that, he gets the referral credit. All Amazon referrals work this way.
- Pissoff, on 11/29/2007, -1/+20That's because it is real, he's just wrapped it in a makeshift proxy and manipulated the links.
- greenlight2001, on 11/29/2007, -0/+11Referral links. If you purchase an item from his page, he gets a cut from amazon.
- futureb, on 11/29/2007, -0/+10so the person who wrote this blog has never heard of people squatting on misspelled domains before? how do you make money? um, how do the internets work? it blows my mind sometimes how people who write for supposedly reputable sites have no idea what they're talking about.
- inactive, on 11/29/2007, -0/+10no you ***** moron
- Pissoff, on 11/29/2007, -2/+11I double checked, it is just a redirect that amazon allows, nothing fishy going on here.
It sends you here: http://www.amazon.com/?%5Fencoding=UTF8&tag=faeboo ...
That will format amazon to give affiliate credit to faebook-20 for any activity. - Otto, on 11/29/2007, -1/+10It's even worse than that. Once you visit his page and get his tag sent to Amazon, if you go directly to Amazon and buy anything for about a week, he gets paid. Amazon referrals last a while.
So his reasoning in sending them to Amazon is not to get them to buy right away. It's to get your browser to use his referral tag to go to Amazon. Then if you buy anything, even directly typing the Amazon URL, he gets a cut. - krets, on 11/29/2007, -0/+8Even worse: Coockies.
- Pissoff, on 11/29/2007, -2/+10lawl
- boberto, on 11/29/2007, -1/+8I think amazon pays you for referrals, so if people order stuff he will get some money
- em22, on 11/29/2007, -0/+7No so, the login page is Amazons actual login page, already checked this...
- em22, on 11/29/2007, -3/+9I think we should stop digging this, as we are already giving traffic through this site if it is working on refferals.
Its not a scam, - scams generally have some sort of devious idea behind them where someone will loose out, in this case it appears no one will loose money.... BURY! - SmokeMeAKipper, on 11/29/2007, -1/+7What did you get, Window PX or Windows Vasto?
- whizkid, on 11/29/2007, -0/+6In a different comment someone claimed that the referral gets logged for more than just that visit, and as such even if you go back later by typing amazon.com directly into your browser, that guy still gets credit for the referral.
The other comment claimed it might last up to a week. - kurtwinter, on 11/29/2007, -0/+6Opple's OX Y is roxx0r but lonix r00lz
- Vaiosaurus, on 11/29/2007, -8/+13The fake looks real. I am kind of impressed. But still a dumb idea.
- isntreal, on 11/29/2007, -0/+5further: the page is php or other ss scripting based, because the frame is linked to ?pagesection=body, so there could be anything going on in the script when it loads the frame, however, the page does a complete redirect to an amazon address, so there is no need to worry about account information being taken.. only thing he could be doing is tracking hits/referrers
- Pissoff, on 11/29/2007, -2/+7OR, he's just doing a redirect. Maybe Amazon supports that? Can you tell amazon "If I link from my site give me credit for any activity from their session" ?
- isntreal, on 11/29/2007, -0/+4Yep, not much going on.. just a frame and a gif image used as a referral tracker.
- inactive, on 11/29/2007, -3/+7How is this a scam....its a legit amazon site. Sounds like clever ingenuity to increase traffic from mipelling facebook.
- tidu, on 11/29/2007, -2/+6If I'm not mistaken, the guy gets a portion of the money if you purchase one of his referred items.
- isntreal, on 11/29/2007, -0/+4Worse yet. Cockies.
- zcreem, on 11/29/2007, -3/+7Come on Faebook is Facebook for fairies.
- ers35, on 11/29/2007, -0/+4Any links you click will load in the frame, leaving the original url intact.
- MonkCanatella, on 11/29/2007, -0/+4According to my careful calculations, he gets money for referring people to amazon.
- inactive, on 11/29/2007, -2/+5This is the only time I've come across this stupid meme and not buried it. Good show sir.
- inactive, on 11/29/2007, -0/+3STFU
- jayevans, on 11/29/2007, -0/+3Im taking it you didn't read the 4 identical replies near the top of this page.
- RevEng, on 11/29/2007, -0/+3Everybody uses 'he' because nobody in their right mind says (or writes) he/she. Since English (like many other languages) doesn't have a gender-inspecific pronoun ('it' is an object, not a person, and 'they' is plural), 'he' has been used for centuries. Just because some feminists have jumped all over it as being sexist and encouraged 'she' to be used instead doesn't make a difference. Feel free to use 'a person' or 'this person' if it really bothers you.
- RevEng, on 11/29/2007, -0/+3Which, the article fails to point out, is a common Whois privacy service. Most (decent) registrars offer a similar service, since whois is abused far too often (kinda like you're doing right now).
- MonkCanatella, on 11/29/2007, -0/+3Not idiots, just people who happen to misspell facebook. See, he gets revenue if the user who found his page buys something from Amazon within 60 days of visiting the site.
- KenSPT, on 11/29/2007, -1/+3Watch, next NewsCorp is going to buy the domain for $100M ...
- foomandoonian, on 11/29/2007, -0/+2It's not 'Faebook' without a 'C'. It's 'Facebook' without a 'C'. There is no 'C' in 'Faebook'. See?
(I'm a pedant, and I crave your disdain) - mrjofo, on 11/29/2007, -0/+2The link is to an article, not the actual faebook page so no harm by digging following the link here.
and it's "lose" goddammit. instead of omitting a 'c' from facebook, they should have taken a couple O's from you. - MarrowMan, on 11/29/2007, -0/+2lol Use bookmark buttons in fire-fox and you don't go where you don't want to go to! ***** simple eh?
- SmokeMeAKipper, on 11/29/2007, -0/+2Well if it was Manfaebook.com it still could be questioned.
- Jugalator, on 11/29/2007, -0/+2That assumption will bite you in the ass once getting married. :-)
- sacherjj, on 11/29/2007, -0/+2I'll admit that I'm mistaken. I'm pretty sure about it.
- Cenobite, on 11/29/2007, -0/+2We're all just assuming that females are too honest and upfront to pull a move like this.
-
Show 51 - 100 of 121 discussions



What is Digg?
The Digg Toolbar for Firefox lets you Digg, submit content, and keep track of Digg even when you're not on the Digg site. Download the official