68 Comments
- sobpanic, on 10/19/2007, -1/+37The best part about this story are the comments, where Richard posts deep thoughts about the situation. This one cracked me up:
"All I know is that the safe is being robed and techcrunch has there fingerprints all over it." - JeremyCouch, on 12/22/2008, -0/+25This guy cannot be so stupid to not understand that the image isn't even on TechCrunch.com . (Is that a triple negative in a sentence? I don't know how else to write it...lol... oh well continuing...) He's just out for a payday and that's obviously not happening.
- inactive, on 10/13/2007, -4/+23richard@downtownphotographer.com
256-653-4813
Let's ***** with him. - DefaultGen, on 10/13/2007, -0/+15Definitely a $1.5mill picture. That blog is rolling in money since they used the picture.
- Jumboto, on 10/13/2007, -0/+14This guy is dumb and should really stay off the google.
- chance1376, on 10/13/2007, -0/+13Anyone one want to buy him the Patents, Copyrights & Trademarks For Dummies Book?
- coit, on 10/13/2007, -0/+12That isn't a lawsuit, it is extortion.
- thelastcivilian, on 10/13/2007, -0/+9"Update 3: So the link to TechCrunch on Google’s search results is gone and the picture now links to Yahoo Answers. Richard still isn’t happy and is demanding I link that search result to him. I’m just speechless."
If only I had known that changing search results was as easy as calling Michael Arrington! - spyrochaete, on 10/12/2007, -0/+9In English, "The guy is stupid because he doesn't understand the image isn't even on TechCrunch.com."
See how not confusing it isn't when you don't use non-positive phrasing? I wouldn't doubt it! - devo6273, on 10/13/2007, -0/+8But... but... TechCrunch is robing him!
Hopefully it's a nice robe at least. - racketboy, on 10/13/2007, -0/+7If only Tech Crunch could take the picture off The Google, all would be well...
- coit, on 10/13/2007, -0/+7Richard's hosting company:
http://en.revorm.com/pholio
If he costs them too much bandwidth, they'll likely shut him down. - Alias12, on 10/13/2007, -0/+7wowie. You know how to use The WHOIS!
- coit, on 10/13/2007, -0/+7And then there's this great quote from Beth Boldt's profile on:
http://headshotphotographermatch.com/beth-boldt-ph ...
"Beth Boldt has photographed models all over the world. She loves to shoot,and has recently had luck finding great girls in Canada and the Eastern Block Countries."
I'll bet she has... - buttfayce, on 10/13/2007, -1/+7lets not.
- mrlost117, on 10/13/2007, -0/+6and Im burying you as inaccurate ya freakin librarian
- mikesbaker, on 10/13/2007, -4/+9call him yet internet tough guy?
- devo6273, on 10/13/2007, -0/+5Richard is just mad because the robe wasn't purple crushed velvet. Wouldn't you be?
- rocafellas, on 10/13/2007, -0/+5||| HIS MYSPACE |||
http://www.myspace.com/35mm4u - sygyzy, on 10/13/2007, -0/+5Amazed that TechCrunch got duggslapped.
- bofhcabbit, on 10/13/2007, -0/+5Photographers like this just make things harder for the rest of us in the industry when we notice real copyright infringement. It helps to actually understand how the internet works.
Also, "the google". - Godlesswanderer, on 10/13/2007, -0/+5"Update 2: Richard has been calling me this evening saying people are crank calling him and that he will take “legal activation” against everyone who calls him. I’ve removed the phone number above. Please stop calling him because he just calls me afterwards."
- DestroyFascism, on 10/13/2007, -0/+4# Richard
October 11th, 2007 at 6:47 pm
Michael, When we get to the bottom of this then we will se wht kind of legal action should be pursued. by the way feel free to give Michael a call and ask him yourself the phone lines are open:925-XXX-XXXX
415-XXX-XXXX
415–XXXX
# Michael Arrington
October 11th, 2007 at 6:49 pm
Richard, you can’t post my contact information on this blog because I can just edit it out, which I did.
Retarded...really retarded.. - inactive, on 10/13/2007, -0/+4"Stupidity is also a gift, although it shouldn't be misused" -Pope John Paul II
- coit, on 10/13/2007, -0/+4It took me awhile, but I viewed all of his pictures.
- jun2san, on 10/13/2007, -0/+4wow...the comments on that site are epic
- DjArcadian, on 10/12/2007, -2/+6http://www.duggmirror.com
- aliengoods, on 10/13/2007, -0/+4I don't think it can be considered extortion, as it has no chance of success. So, since it isn't a lawsuit, I would classify it as 'bat-*****-crazy' talk.
- DesignerDave, on 10/13/2007, -0/+3That's not even the right domain...
http://downtownphotographer.com/ - Nougat, on 10/13/2007, -0/+3No, let's. Clearly, the guy is interested in revenue. Let's give him some traffic, so he can show advertisers how popular he is. Oh except that's not his site. GAH.
- Lorddias, on 10/13/2007, -0/+3"Look, someone finally used our image! Quick, demand $150,000,00!!"
- Alfdog, on 10/14/2007, -0/+3Everyone knows the major photography players are based out of Huntsville, Alabama.
- Godlesswanderer, on 10/13/2007, -0/+3Yep. This, for example.
- Flamekebab, on 10/13/2007, -1/+4Oooh, "The Google", hehe.
- inactive, on 10/13/2007, -1/+4Internet tough guy? hahahah I'm not trying to be tough. But these things make me laugh... when you are this stupid, and have information for people to contact, you are inviting trouble.
I haven't called yet, because I'm at work. I will later.
Have you? - estacado, on 10/13/2007, -0/+3Just like "The Iraq".
- WaterDragon, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2Great, a guy who thought he had a special gift for lying, and that we didn't all see through it!
- jodyg, on 10/13/2007, -0/+2The moron leaves his phone number towards the end of this link....
http://talkcrunch.com/wp-content/Ashton-Kutcher-La ... - DestroyFascism, on 10/13/2007, -0/+2IT's on his website......He should be more diligent and respectful
- nikkesen, on 10/18/2007, -1/+3Oh good, thank you for the translation; I don't speak n00b English.
- milestone777, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2mirror http://duggmirror.com/offbeat_news/TechCrunch_Get_ ...
- xero69, on 10/13/2007, -1/+3http://www.myspace.com/35mm4u
He only has six friends, I think that about says it all! - thegreypilgrim, on 10/13/2007, -0/+2Techcrunch down?! ...didn't know they used WordPress...
/sarcasm - DjArcadian, on 10/13/2007, -0/+2No lawyer would call. They would send a certified letter. This guy is a joke.
- justburnin, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1that was an awesome comment. i think he really believes himself
- bluegene, on 10/12/2007, -1/+2ass clowns
- datastorageguy, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1Umm can you say extortion?
- inactive, on 10/13/2007, -0/+1Right, but doesn't Arrington provide all of his contact info openly to the public anyways?
- antdude, on 10/13/2007, -0/+1You mean Internet.
- inactive, on 10/13/2007, -0/+1I read that. But what's he going to do, sue us all? Just like that "child litigator" lady was going to sue all of us for "illegally downloading" her website, and not agreeing to not-right click on her stuff?
Right. I'll hold my breath until the notice gets here... I'll let you know when I'm dead. -
Show 51 - 66 of 66 discussions



What is Digg?
The Digg Toolbar for Firefox lets you Digg, submit content, and keep track of Digg even when you're not on the Digg site. Download the official