issociate.de— During the last few days a bot using a name FuntKlakow, has beenregistering to maybe thousands of phpBB forums. Some speculate that the bot's owners are preparing to exploit an unreported vulnerability.
Mar 19, 2006View in Crawl 4
It's not fair to single out phpBB as the only forum software that has vulnerabilities. In fact, there's actually an easy exploit with older vBulletin forums which involves putting in a few [quote] and [/quote] BBcodes. Also, doing a google search on "vBulletin exploits" will get you some results.
It's probably using a search engine like google to target the websites, so if your board is indexed by google then the bot will get you. If your site isn't indexed by google and the bot has you then we should work out how the bot is finding the boards?
I found about 50 bogus users that were created over the past month. All of them had websites that pointed to porn. I removed them using the PHPBB Toolkit.As for the name, I'm reading FuntKlakow as "Fun to Kill a Cow". Maybe it's my twisted mind.
emkaMar 19, 2006
funt kłaków = pound of tufts:)
Closed AccountMar 19, 2006
It's not fair to single out phpBB as the only forum software that has vulnerabilities. In fact, there's actually an easy exploit with older vBulletin forums which involves putting in a few [quote] and [/quote] BBcodes. Also, doing a google search on "vBulletin exploits" will get you some results.
smokezzMar 19, 2006
pphpBB hasn't been "hacked" for over 2 months... clueless people suck.
splingMar 19, 2006
Found it on my board. Banned. Digg++
tower31Mar 19, 2006
Web
billfluMar 19, 2006
Here are some of the posts that a simple google search turned up:<a class="user" href="http://www.tweedmag.com/talk/search.php?search_author=FuntKlakow">http://www.tweedmag.com/talk/search.php?search_author=FuntKlakow</a><a class="user" href="http://www.thrivenews.com/forum/search.php?search_author=FuntKlakow">http://www.thrivenews.com/forum/search.php?search_author=FuntKlakow</a><a class="user" href="http://forum.irkawebpromotions.com/search.php?search_author=FuntKlakow">http://forum.irkawebpromotions.com/search.php?search_author=FuntKlakow</a><a class="user" href="http://www.leafssuck.org/search.php?search_author=FuntKlakow">http://www.leafssuck.org/search.php?search_author=FuntKlakow</a><a class="user" href="http://www.autographfinder.com/autoforum/search.php?search_author=FuntKlakow">http://www.autographfinder.com/autoforum/search.php?search_author=FuntKlakow</a><a class="user" href="http://www.automotivehaven.com/phpBB2/search.php?search_author=FuntKlakow">http://www.automotivehaven.com/phpBB2/search.php?search_author=FuntKlakow</a>
1razer1Mar 20, 2006
It's probably using a search engine like google to target the websites, so if your board is indexed by google then the bot will get you. If your site isn't indexed by google and the bot has you then we should work out how the bot is finding the boards?
autosyncMar 23, 2006
I found about 50 bogus users that were created over the past month. All of them had websites that pointed to porn. I removed them using the PHPBB Toolkit.As for the name, I'm reading FuntKlakow as "Fun to Kill a Cow". Maybe it's my twisted mind.
techoboMar 23, 2006
It got mine too, I only have 19 of my buddies on it.
trekkie101Apr 6, 2006
Yorn, you're very much mistaken. As of now, SMF has no known security issues. 1.0.7 and RC2-1 are out and patch any issues SMF was known to have.
mjwgmailJan 7, 2008
very interesting