emp.damage-web.net — A few days ago a member from the No-Steam crew by-passed Valve's security and exposed some financial information. What does he want in return? A notice on the steampowered website saying their systems have been comprimised. Whats at risk? Lots and lots of credit card information.
Apr 17, 2007 View in Crawl 4
ahnteisApr 18, 2007
>>Nobody's stupid enough to buy something on a stolen credit card and have it sent to his own house.No. There's always SOMEONE stupid enough.
lazer32Apr 18, 2007
I find it funny you among others are so worried about in game ads. That should be the least of your worries! Look at all of these companies that would rather charge you a monthly fee, as far as I'm concerned ads are a safety net against such a compromise, because I sure as hell would be pretty pissed off if one day steam was like, "Oh we need money for servers, MONTHLY FEE GO!" - Screw that! You people need to open your eyes and see the big picture.
chronowraithApr 19, 2007
Stuff like this pisses me off. Fair enough, I'll give a company an amount of time to determine if this is a hoax or not, and having posts made on your official forum are most likely going to explode something that may not even be an issue.Sure, I know Steam isn't all bunnies and roses and many people don't like the concepts that it has introduced, but if you have a problem with the program, don't use it! You don't have to play HL2. Valve is not holding a gun to your head. If pukes like these at the "No-Steam" website decide they have problems with the program, a program that they don't have to use, then don't screw it up for the rest of us.Even if they do have a problem and want to retaliate (without good reason mind you because they are not being forced into oppression), then contain your problem with Valve itself. Reading the website, it doesn't seem like they did it for the money, they did it for the statement. Create some DoS attacks or some s**t. Bog the system down so it crashes and causes Valve to work through the weekend to fix. Don't f**k around with my information cause now you’re creating enemies you didn't have and have put me 100% on Valve's side.
gamerzworldApr 19, 2007
Even though Valve said it's just people with cybercafe accounts, I still just canceled my credit card. It's better to be safe than sorry. From now on, anything I buy on Steam will be with a Visa gift card.
novastarApr 19, 2007
<a class="user" href="http://www.1up.com/do/newsStory?cId=3158852">http://www.1up.com/do/newsStory?cId=3158852</a>There has been no security breach of Steam." However, he does confirm our expert's findings by adding, "The alleged hacker gained access to a third-party site that Valve uses to manage the commercial partners in its Cyber Café program. This Cyber Café billing system is not connected to Steam. We are working with law enforcement agencies on this matter, and encourage anyone with more information to e-mail us at Catch_A_Thief@valvesoftware.com."
macavity13Apr 20, 2007
No-Steam appears to be No-More?
qwiggaloApr 20, 2007
Without attention they won't get caught.
daredevil2113Apr 23, 2007
noticed a few things, kinda weird?First off- i have alot of free time. lol.**NOTICE** ALL OF THESE FACTS CAN BE CHECKED (FOR PROOF) AT ORIGINAL PICTURES AT <a class="user" href="http://media.1up.com/media?id=3261023">http://media.1up.com/media?id=3261023</a> and <a class="user" href="http://media.1up.com/media?id=3261021">http://media.1up.com/media?id=3261021</a>first off.dont laugh at me. I may have screwed up the zoom on these two, so just check the originals, but in<a class="user" href="http://img211.imageshack.us/img211/3706/blurrname1cn1.jpg">http://img211.imageshack.us/img211/3706/blurrname1cn1.jpg</a> and<a class="user" href="http://img111.imageshack.us/img111/9246/blurrname2ni1.jpg">http://img111.imageshack.us/img111/9246/blurrname2ni1.jpg</a>the blurred out name arent the same lengths! Yes, i took out a ruler and measured. WHO CARES. :P2nd,<a class="user" href="http://img211.imageshack.us/img211/8641/englishiv4.jpg">http://img211.imageshack.us/img211/8641/englishiv4.jpg</a>and <a class="user" href="http://img444.imageshack.us/img444/4359/germandh6.jpg">http://img444.imageshack.us/img444/4359/germandh6.jpg</a>one screenshot is in english, and other in german (or some other language). weird? it looks like IE6 vs IE7 also. (look at the file/edit/view at the top)3rd,Was some of this forged? i have no freakin clue, but in photoshop i found that some of the pixels were different, as if they were tampered with<a class="user" href="http://img111.imageshack.us/img111/766/pixelsvq6.jpg">http://img111.imageshack.us/img111/766/pixelsvq6.jpg</a>last but not least, the clocks go from 12 to 24 hr. im not sure if that means much, but thats weird, yes?<a class="user" href="http://img111.imageshack.us/img111/4562/timeany3.jpg">http://img111.imageshack.us/img111/4562/timeany3.jpg</a><a class="user" href="http://img444.imageshack.us/img444/4156/timebnu5.jpg">http://img444.imageshack.us/img444/4156/timebnu5.jpg</a>xfire daredevil2113 kthx.