symantec.com— US job website Monster.com has suffered an online attack with the personal data of hundreds of thousands of users stolen, says a security firm.
Aug 21, 2007View in Crawl 4
After speaking with Monster.com live help, this is their email response to the matter:As you may know, there have been recent reports of a piece of malicious software ? called Infostealer.Monstres ? that has been used to gather the login credentials of our legitimate customers, and use those credentials to log into Monster?s resume database in order to view resumes posted to Monster?s resume database. * We are investigating the reports related to this Trojan and will take all necessary steps to mitigate the issue, including terminating any account used for illegitimate purposes. * To the best of our knowledge, this is not a ?hack? of Monster?s security ? rather, legitimate customer credentials are being used to log in to the database. * Many of the media reports refer to this as an issue of ?identity theft?. We are not aware of any cases of identity theft. The information that is gathered from Monster is not different than that displayed in a phone book ? i.e. generic contact information. There has also been a related report of virus-infected display ads on Monster.com. We are not aware of any facts confirming this report. When asked, the company making this report could not provide us with any confirming details. Protecting our users from fraud is one of Monster?s top priorities.We appreciate you for choosing Monster.
Apparently USAjobs.com (the government site) was affected (according to ZDNet). So what is the government doing? In a flash of brilliance, *emailing job seekers that they may get phished.*Hm... AN URGENT NOTICE FROM THE US GOVERNMENT! YOU MUST IMMEDIATELY UPDATE YOUR INFORMATION.
Closed AccountAug 22, 2007
"tailors to my interests"Oh s**t is right. You're going to look stupid with all those alternative lifestyle mags falling out of your mailbox.
fip0Aug 22, 2007
But if you just changed the email monster has, isn't it too late ?
third3yeAug 22, 2007
I knows, my feet hurt. When will I ever learn.
flyboy311Aug 22, 2007
After speaking with Monster.com live help, this is their email response to the matter:As you may know, there have been recent reports of a piece of malicious software ? called Infostealer.Monstres ? that has been used to gather the login credentials of our legitimate customers, and use those credentials to log into Monster?s resume database in order to view resumes posted to Monster?s resume database. * We are investigating the reports related to this Trojan and will take all necessary steps to mitigate the issue, including terminating any account used for illegitimate purposes. * To the best of our knowledge, this is not a ?hack? of Monster?s security ? rather, legitimate customer credentials are being used to log in to the database. * Many of the media reports refer to this as an issue of ?identity theft?. We are not aware of any cases of identity theft. The information that is gathered from Monster is not different than that displayed in a phone book ? i.e. generic contact information. There has also been a related report of virus-infected display ads on Monster.com. We are not aware of any facts confirming this report. When asked, the company making this report could not provide us with any confirming details. Protecting our users from fraud is one of Monster?s top priorities.We appreciate you for choosing Monster.
Closed AccountAug 22, 2007
you wont mind if i send your CV (edited) to your boss then telling him you're looking for a new job in chicken farming and grooming young boys?
gmm4lifeAug 22, 2007
Right next to the link... Monster.com ad...
pseudonimAug 31, 2007
Apparently USAjobs.com (the government site) was affected (according to ZDNet). So what is the government doing? In a flash of brilliance, *emailing job seekers that they may get phished.*Hm... AN URGENT NOTICE FROM THE US GOVERNMENT! YOU MUST IMMEDIATELY UPDATE YOUR INFORMATION.
danskoSep 17, 2007
Maybe they have also stolen Credit card numbers ?><a class="user" href="http://www.born-shoes.org">http://www.born-shoes.org</a>
jepizacarAug 22, 2008
nice resource....<a class="user" href="http://topforex.co.cc">http://topforex.co.cc</a><a class="user" href="http://skincare.freehostia.com">http://skincare.freehostia.com</a><a class="user" href="http://acnecare.890m.com">http://acnecare.890m.com</a><a class="user" href="http://acne.ej.am">http://acne.ej.am</a><a class="user" href="http://gofinance.890m.com">http://gofinance.890m.com</a><a class="user" href="http://fastcar.890m.com">http://fastcar.890m.com</a><a class="user" href="http://carbeauty.co.cc">http://carbeauty.co.cc</a><a class="user" href="http://gadingan.com">http://gadingan.com</a><a class="user" href="http://gadingan.com/indexsc.php">http://gadingan.com/indexsc.php</a><a class="user" href="http://gadingan.wordpress.com">http://gadingan.wordpress.com</a><a class="user" href="http://23ltd.info">http://23ltd.info</a><a class="user" href="http://jeniya.info">http://jeniya.info</a>