pcworld.com — The company claims their web browser is a tool for privacy protection, but according to Panda Software it's got some hidden adware. ''It's being used deceptively to get more hits on their site,'' Schoch says. ''This adware opens a series of adult web pages, although they are not visible to the user.''
Jun 24, 2006 View in Crawl 4
Closed AccountJun 24, 2006
"Wow. So glad I'm NOT using windows."WTF, don't you know how to think for yourself? Or maybe you think others can't...This has nothing to do with Windows. A fraudulent browser can be created for any OS. All it takes is for someone to be duped into installing it.And if you forward this to 25 people, Bill Gates will send you $100. Duh.
oficermantimberJun 25, 2006
Obviously if a site has an adult sites link on its page it is not exactly trustworthy for sofware.
thefingerJun 25, 2006
If only I had a dollar for every MacTard like "Haroldx" posting stupidity like the comment below. Grab a brain you twit. :(
cleverboyJun 25, 2006
People. This is amazing. Look how many people dugg this article, and visited their website. I bet a bunch of people downloaded the browser and "tried it out" to see the porn too... and how many people got infected with that trojan horse? I've marked this article as "spam". Made the front page of Digg and I'm sure these guys made some money off of the traffic spigot that is. I'm shocked that PC World would give them a direct link, given how dangerous people are finding the whole thing. That's pretty damn irresponsible.
paulrclarkJun 25, 2006
<a class="user" href="http://browsezilla.org/adult/">http://browsezilla.org/adult/</a> [Warning: Adult Content]Hmm..what kind of software company provides a link such as this?
ifonlyJun 25, 2006
This company gets 200,000+ uniques a day, ouch.
tx2stepJun 25, 2006
Domain registered in UK but looks like server is in the US.<a class="user" href="http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois.ch?ip=browsezilla.org">http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois.ch?ip=browsezilla.org</a><a class="user" href="http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/lookup.ch?name=BROWSEZILLA.ORG&type=A">http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/lookup.ch?name=BROWSEZILLA.ORG&type=A</a>Looking at IAmAI siteadvisor link, the on-line affiliations for browsezilla.org are topadult10.com and sexswap.com