arstechnica.com— A suspiciously-crafted URL disguised as a local IP address has caused an outcry over how Adobe's usage statistics are being gathered.
Dec 31, 2007View in Crawl 4
You'd be best off adding just 2o7.net, thus blocking the whole domain. It's used all over the place on the web - mostly cookies and ad junk if I'm not mistaken. Better yet, look at stuff like DNSKong from <a class="user" href="http://pyrenean.com/">http://pyrenean.com/</a> - for win32, if you're interested in blocking stuff at the DNS level (basically Hosts but more flexible, filters etc.)
I find it interesting how unfounded comments and news items make their way onto the Internet. I just started working for Omniture, and I understand their tracking procedures pretty well now. Apparently, Adobe uses a built-in IE component to display news and a page served from Adobe servers. Hence, Omniture tracks any webpage from Adobe. Simply opt out of the 2o7 tracking cookie in IE, and you're good to go :)
scottschillerJan 2, 2008
You'd be best off adding just 2o7.net, thus blocking the whole domain. It's used all over the place on the web - mostly cookies and ad junk if I'm not mistaken. Better yet, look at stuff like DNSKong from <a class="user" href="http://pyrenean.com/">http://pyrenean.com/</a> - for win32, if you're interested in blocking stuff at the DNS level (basically Hosts but more flexible, filters etc.)
Closed AccountJan 2, 2008
Just get Little Snitch.
brymconJan 2, 2008
GIMP!!
dansen926Jan 22, 2008
I find it interesting how unfounded comments and news items make their way onto the Internet. I just started working for Omniture, and I understand their tracking procedures pretty well now. Apparently, Adobe uses a built-in IE component to display news and a page served from Adobe servers. Hence, Omniture tracks any webpage from Adobe. Simply opt out of the 2o7 tracking cookie in IE, and you're good to go :)