destructoid.com — No, I'm not kidding. A few days back we reported Ziff Davis was selling 1UP and EGM. Well, it looks like the site's already been bought and is now within the unforgiving claws of Dell. Notice the new logo in the top left corner of the site.
Jan 9, 2007 View in Crawl 4
Closed AccountJan 9, 2007
Probably not bought, just an extended advertising partner or something like that.
ocelot13Jan 9, 2007
um, what does apple have to do with EGM and dell? honestly, i want to know....
cornstarchJan 9, 2007
Actually got dead on.
aqtransJan 9, 2007
Anyone try going to <a class="user" href="http://wii.1up.com,">http://wii.1up.com,</a> same rebranding, yet...not at dell.1up.com.
andytheidiotJan 9, 2007
Simply a cobranding. It sets a cookie the first time you visit it. You see this sort of thing a lot when you keep the default home pages and stuff on your new computer. Buried at Inaccurate.(FYI: I don't keep the default home pages)
dlinnJan 9, 2007
lol nice reportage
washcapsfan37Jan 9, 2007
Marked as highly inaccurate.If you go to <a class="user" href="http://www.dell.com/html/us/google/partner.html">http://www.dell.com/html/us/google/partner.html</a> you'll see the same header and tabs. Clicking on the "Home" tab takes you to <a class="user" href="http://www.google.com/ig/dell">http://www.google.com/ig/dell</a> Obviously Dell didn't buy Google. They are just partners (there's also a <a class="user" href="http://www.google.com/ig/gateway">http://www.google.com/ig/gateway</a> ). Clicking on the "Gaming" link takes you to <a class="user" href="http://dell.1up.com">http://dell.1up.com</a> It's just a partnership they set up so people with new Dell computers could see a Dell-branded version of various sites. I bet there are plenty more.