Sponsored by HowLifeWorks
Who Gets To Use Unsold Cruise Cabins at Huge Discounts view!
howlifeworks.com - How to access once-in-a-lifetime trips at significantly less than full price
340 Comments
- pak314, on 05/16/2009, -2/+466Its not stolen. I still see it on the Ubuntu website.
- sockpuppets, on 05/16/2009, -2/+326*cough*
http://poolinvest.net/ - Vadi0, on 05/15/2009, -6/+312Time to call the logo police!
- bratterscain, on 05/15/2009, -8/+303This is why we can't have nice things.
- Krissam, on 05/16/2009, -3/+204But when were the logoes made?
- Nickedynick, on 05/16/2009, -28/+212I hate to say it, but HMR Group were set up in 2002 - Ubuntu's first release was October 2004...
- ObeseSnake, on 05/15/2009, -8/+168Maybe they thought they could use it free? Open source software gets people all of the time.
- guinpen, on 05/16/2009, -5/+145doesn't mean they were using the logo in 2002
- sockpuppets, on 05/16/2009, -6/+129You should see my website figg.com. My friend Revin Kose and I started it.
- MexAzn24, on 05/16/2009, -5/+125whether they created it first or not, Ubuntu has the trademark...
http://www.ubuntu.com/aboutus/trademarkpolicy - inactive, on 05/16/2009, -9/+89Free advertising for the company in 3... 2...
PS All publicity is publicity, even negative. - Phrea, on 05/16/2009, -2/+79Research could teach us that.
- Ben789da, on 05/16/2009, -1/+78Ubuntu Lettuce - http://luiscosio.com/ubuntu-lettuce
- askantik, on 05/16/2009, -4/+69"Stolen" just like "stolen" software from Pirate Bay. :D
- inactive, on 05/16/2009, -1/+66It's in the address bar of the screenshot.
- nyxerebos, on 05/16/2009, -5/+67You should see my website lemonparty.org. My friend Sockpuppets and I started it.
- 121JiggaWatts, on 05/16/2009, -2/+59nice detective work there skippy, but...check the name of the image
http://www.hmrgroup.co.uk/images/newlogo.gif - ATL, on 06/20/2009, -0/+55yarrr!!!
- canada42, on 05/16/2009, -3/+56There are hundreds of variations of the "people holding hands" logo. This is a blatant ripoff of ubuntu's version.
- GamingBob, on 05/16/2009, -2/+50You should see my website rigg.com. My friend Evrin Soke and I started it.
- jay314, on 05/16/2009, -6/+52Digg goes over this topic at least once a year..
Previously, it was MSN Spaces:
http://spaceslogo.spaces.live.com/Blog/cns!1pewB9J ...
And also a company called Scripps:
http://www.scripps.org/
And the IM2 logo:
http://www.softpedia.com/progScreenshots/IM-Instan ...
Turns out that Ubuntu just has a really generic logo. - LostOverThere, on 05/16/2009, -6/+49Stealing the Ubuntu logo seems to be a trend...
- sockpuppets, on 05/16/2009, -1/+42The code is open source, fool. The logo isn't.
And yes I typed that with Mr. T's voice in my head. - aywwts4, on 05/16/2009, -1/+41Please don't lynch these guys, there is much more than a shadow of doubt here.
They "Didn't even try to hide it" because they probably Paid someone to "Design" it for them, they probably paid a few hundred dollars for a stolen logo. They also probably hired a similar "Designer" to build their website, and they probably got a generic template for their troubles.
Its pretty common, the criminal here is probably a "Design Firm" which outsources to china and steals like crazy, knowing by the time someone finds out, they can change their company name and disappear into the night. Not many firms actually have in house designers, they hire someone for the few things they need, and they don't really have any way to tell if its stolen or not, unless someone has used ubuntu in this case. When I work with said independent designers I make part of the requirements of the project all original PSD files and work in progress. If they really made it I should be able to see it. Many people will never take that precaution. - Kennui, on 05/16/2009, -1/+41*meanwhile someone does the research for us fellow diggers and posts a link*
- eugene2k, on 05/16/2009, -2/+40Their domain, however, was registered only on 21.02.2008
Check the whois information if you like. - nosg, on 05/16/2009, -3/+40for example...?
- DocHoliday22, on 05/16/2009, -0/+36They probably gave the web design to some rookie who nabbed it off the net and thought nobody would notice...
- XFi6, on 05/16/2009, -4/+39http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://hmrgroup.co.uk
:( ! - inactive, on 05/16/2009, -2/+36I steal all my linux distros.
I'm so ***** hard-core. - inactive, on 05/16/2009, -9/+43Wait wait wait wait....It is the consesnsus of Digg that you can't STEAL something unless you deprive the owner of that object. So how is it possible that Ubuntu can now no longer use it themselves?
- inactive, on 05/16/2009, -5/+39PS...the "all publicity is good" notion is ***** and has been proven to be so. Bad press does NOT help business.
- hilo4321, on 05/16/2009, -3/+33is this your first day alive? people sue everyday for logo use
- lolque, on 05/16/2009, -3/+32What the ***** crawled up your ass and died?
- alpha88, on 05/16/2009, -0/+29are you... captain... kirk?
or perhaps... horatio caine... - JRowe3388, on 05/16/2009, -2/+30lol
- otbeverly, on 05/16/2009, -2/+30*Trademark police*
- Joh739, on 05/16/2009, -0/+27It's not the source, it's the trademark :)
- painting, on 05/16/2009, -0/+26http://youthoughtwewouldntnotice.com/
- roxgod666, on 05/16/2009, -0/+25Check again.
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2204/3536018395_5d2 ... - vividbox, on 05/16/2009, -5/+29Look at the source code for the logo.
"background:transparent url(../images/newlogo.gif) no-repeat scroll"
Keyword(s): newlogo.gif. NEW. Thanks. - chubbstar, on 05/16/2009, -1/+24when were they TRADEMARKED is the real question.
- canada42, on 05/16/2009, -2/+25Wow they didn't even try to hide it. Its even oriented the same way, just different shading.
- minch0, on 05/16/2009, -12/+35http://hmrgroup.co.uk/
- Soval, on 05/16/2009, -1/+23The Software is OS, not the logo. It's a trademark of canonical and they can sue them.
- roomforpanic, on 05/16/2009, -1/+21woosh
- RevinKoze, on 05/16/2009, -1/+20How many times have we gone over this? It's k-o-Z-e!
- insertnewsn, on 05/16/2009, -2/+21It's a simple question, and the fact that he's ASKING if it's under the creative commons license should be proof enough that he wasn't 100% certain.
I'm sorry that everyone on this Earth doesn't know the logistics of creative commons licenses.
Perhaps you and your infinite wisdom could help explain instead of being a total and irreparable *****? - PatrickBrown, on 05/16/2009, -6/+24What is sarcasm?
- nyxerebos, on 05/16/2009, -1/+18If you have a problem, if no one else can help, and if you can find them, maybe you can hire... The A-Team
-
Show 51 - 100 of 346 discussions




What is Digg?