Warning: The Content in this Article May be Inaccurate
Readers have reported that this story contains information that may not be accurate.Sponsored by Activision
Introducing DJ Hero Game view!
djhero.com - Scratch and mix 102 songs in 93 original mixes from today's hottest artists. Available Now.
43 Comments
- LiquidPenguin, on 10/12/2007, -2/+13This hoax would've been really great if they didn't use the 1/8 stereo jack as a connector.
I'll dig it anyways just for the novelty of it. - Artifez, on 10/12/2007, -2/+13It's wretchedly done and uninspired, I will never understand the compulsion to create hoaxes.
- scottevans, on 10/12/2007, -2/+6ummmm...he let you know in the description that it was a hoax site. he posted it for fun, not as fact. read the full description before you make a fool of yourself, next time
- Coelacanth, on 10/12/2007, -0/+4yeah, its such a hoax... sheesh. I would have believed it if they made more of a fanfare about it. Or if they made some clickable links in the page...
- inactive, on 10/12/2007, -0/+3they have an oscar in the european awards , must be for best fictional product
- noouch, on 10/12/2007, -0/+3Reading through these comments, I am disappointed to see how many people can't take a joke.
- inactive, on 10/12/2007, -0/+3Flash memory has a limited amount of read/write cycles. After writing too much data on flash memory, the memory begins to wear out.
People who have a flash drive for many years can attest to this.......the capacity of their drives decrease over time. But this is why inventions like magnetic RAM (which can retain data even without power) would be more valuable than flash memory someday. - BigPapi, on 10/12/2007, -0/+3Are you kidding me? The Lion vs 42 midgets BBC article hoax was amazing!
- JasonHilton, on 10/12/2007, -0/+3Where is my damn supernotebook with solar memory???
- P3ST4, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2lmao the "not for individual resale" made me laugh
seems like something theyd put on candy bars or something - EBFoxbat, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2Even the ficticious super notebook is limited to a 1.3 MP camera....
- gcube9x, on 10/12/2007, -2/+4Even if it was real, would you want to back up 2TB of info to FLASH?
- rocke86, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2The dead give aways are the solar media chip and the 500gb chip actually has the words "for replacement hdd" on it!
- rojaro, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2Actually this Company has been around for a few years now, but to my knowledge, no one had ever seen one of their products in real life except behind glass at a few exhibitions.
- twygallypuff, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2interesting. I dugg it *because* its a lame ass hoax
The submitter clearly states that it is misinformation
djdole et al. would do well to cultivate a sense of humour - Godspeed, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2it would take a long arse time thats for shure
- P3ST4, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2if i could i would...im pretty sure no one here has used 2TB yet, but if i had 2TB to back up, i would
and this is suppose to be a HD replacement, not a backup drive - djdole, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2Don't be disappointed.
It just goes to show that there IS a threshold to how lame a joke/hoax/cliché submission can be before it's no longer tolerated on Digg. - ethicalhacker, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2This was really just an experiment to see how a post like this would be received by the digg community. I like exposing the hoax as well. Some people have expressed discontent because the title does not reflect that it is not real and the story has been tagged as Lame or Inaccurate, and thus buried, kicked from the front page, and doomed to be stuck at a low number of diggs for ever. It's too bad that those who downed this story couldn't see it for what it was, a funny post.
I noticed that Kevin Rose dugg this. Some of the people commenting on the story want to know why. If you feel so inclined, Kevin, why don't you tell them. I imagine that its either because you like pulling pranks on your friends or because you were drunk when you dugg it. Either way, thanks for the digg. - Morph_Ball, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2Dugg for the pictures, really~
- Yorn, on 10/12/2007, -1/+3Unfortunately, this is NOT a hoax. It's a marketing scam that is used to steal money from potential investors in the company that don't know enough or can't afford to have a third party do research into their claims. Atomchip has been around forever, but unfortunately there are pink sheet corporations that make money off of uneducated investors. Please keep digging, more people need to know about this type of scam.
- edifus, on 10/12/2007, -1/+3lighten up man, its very clear in the description that its a hoax...
- elvis314, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2this ranks up there with the DIY lasik@home:)
- Scott2, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2Some companies (Apple springs to mind) have been embedding a fiber-optic connection in the 1/8" stereo jack. Its used for audio only at the moment, but that would be an interesting method of connecting that much memory.
The article is still fake though. - Troopy, on 10/12/2007, -1/+2yea absolute irritation. bs,. no digg from me.
- ethicalhacker, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1 Registrant:
Shimon Gendlin
Shimon Gendlin
21 Reed Lane
Westbury, NY 11590
US
Email: atomchip@optonline.net
Registrar Name....: REGISTER.COM, INC.
Registrar Whois...: whois.register.com
Registrar Homepage: www.register.com
Domain Name: atomchip.com
Created on..............: Sun, Aug 25, 2002
Expires on..............: Sat, Aug 25, 2007
Record last updated on..: Sat, Feb 11, 2006
Administrative Contact:
WIPOI
Shimon Gendlin
21 Reed Lane
Westbury, NY 11590
US
Phone: 516-368-4800
Email: shimon_gendlin@msn.com
Technical Contact:
Register.Com
Domain Registrar
575 8th Avenue 11th Floor
New York, NY 10018
US
Phone: 1-902-7492701
Email: domain-registrar@register.com
DNS Servers:
dns1.register.com
dns2.register.com - inactive, on 10/12/2007, -1/+2i agree, they waste time an work backwards. reported as lame
- ethicalhacker, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1Here's some identifying information that the site doesn't disclose.
Address lookup canonical name atomchip.com.
aliases
addresses 216.21.229.209, 216.21.229.240
Domain Whois record
Queried whois.internic.net with "dom atomchip.com"...
Whois Server Version 1.3
Domain Name: ATOMCHIP.COM
Registrar: REGISTER.COM, INC.
Whois Server: whois.register.com
Referral URL: http://www.register.com
Name Server: DNS1.REGISTER.COM
Name Server: DNS2.REGISTER.COM
Status: REGISTRAR-LOCK
Updated Date: 11-feb-2006
Creation Date: 25-aug-2002
Expiration Date: 25-aug-2007
>>> Last update of whois database: Wed, 19 Jul 2006 15:58:13 EDT - djdole, on 10/12/2007, -1/+2You don't need to go through all that to know this is a lame hoax.
Still, it's good to see someone's willing to do the legwork to prove it. :-] - ethicalhacker, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1atomchip.com IN NS dns2.register.com 21600s (06:00:00)
atomchip.com IN SOA server: dns1.register.com
email: root.register.com
serial: 200208376
refresh: 10800
retry: 3600
expire: 604800
minimum ttl: 21600
21600s (06:00:00)
atomchip.com IN A 216.21.229.240 21600s (06:00:00)
atomchip.com IN MX preference: 10
exchange: mxmail.register.com
21600s (06:00:00)
atomchip.com IN A 216.21.229.209 21600s (06:00:00)
atomchip.com IN NS dns1.register.com 21600s (06:00:00) - ethicalhacker, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1I realize that. It seems to be a popular post though, don't ya think...
(Did you actually choose the username Turtlehead?) - inactive, on 10/12/2007, -2/+2Why is this inaccurate ***** on the front page?
- baronne, on 10/12/2007, -3/+2I checked their patent numbers on the European patent database and they don't show up on there, so these pilliks are a bunch of losers. no diggity.
- cwcheang, on 10/12/2007, -2/+1http://atomchip.com/
checkout the supernotebook.. lol
don't know why kevinrose dugg this... - twygallypuff, on 10/12/2007, -2/+1I bought one of their SG220-2 "Super notebooks" a few years back. It's ok i guess but I paid 10 grand for it and Windows only recognizes 128Gig of the 2TB it supposedly has!!! I've been back and forth with tech support. They blame it on Windows but when I call M$ tech support they tell me I'm an idiotic ass-rag and that I've been duped by an illegitimate company. Now, admittedly, I am indeed an ignorant ass-rag, but how can the company be no good! they got a website and everything!!! exclamation points!!!!!!!!
- Survivor303, on 10/12/2007, -2/+1what you means?
Well... sure why not? - Sexyguynsac, on 10/12/2007, -2/+1This is the same company that was supposed to show their new optical chips at CES last year. We all knew it was a fake then as well. No Digg.
- Turtlehead, on 10/12/2007, -2/+0No, I won it in a ***** cracker!
- theone2Punch, on 10/12/2007, -5/+3you idiot
- ArcticCelt, on 10/12/2007, -4/+1Misleading title. Misleading beginning of description. Submitter did it on purpose to get more diggs. Deserve to get buried for bad faith.
- djdole, on 10/12/2007, -5/+1Not Dugg for being a really lame ass hoax.
Reported as lame for submitter's attempt at disseminating misinformation.
Submitter would do well to learn not to encourage the ignorant. - Turtlehead, on 10/12/2007, -7/+1Hey ethicalhacker ya ***** n00b! This has been on the internets for years.
- pipdip, on 10/12/2007, -18/+4This site was proved fake like.. 3 years ago. Don't you think you'd about it if 2TB flash memory was invented? We'd hear about it? No Digg.. fake.


What is Digg?