Sponsored by Travelzoo
$52 and Up-Airlines Slash Fares On Peak Holiday Flights. view!
travelzoo.com - This year, waiting until the last minute is NOT the best strategy. See why.
59 Comments
- inactive, on 10/12/2007, -4/+46In other news, MICROSOFT BUYS GAMESPOT as indicated by the Xbox ads all over that site.
- morningblur, on 10/12/2007, -0/+24Fake. That is just the same rebranding Dell always does. When you buy a dell this page comes loaded as your homepage: http://www.google.com/ig/dell does this also mean that Dell has bought Google? No.
All that is happening is that when you visit that dell branded version of 1up a cookie is placed on your computer than constantly redirects you to the dell branded version. Clear your cookies and visit 1up.com and you'll see. - m3mn0n, on 10/12/2007, -5/+24The site reads this:
"Copyright © 2002-2006 Ziff Davis Media Inc. All Rights Reserved. 1UP and the 1UP.COM logo are a trademark of Ziff Davis Publishing Holdings Inc."
Until it reads otherwise, or there is an official announcement/press release, I'm going to bury stories like this. - greekgoat91, on 10/12/2007, -2/+20idiots, they didn't buy them
http://dell.1up.com/
When you buy a dell this page comes loaded as your homepage: http://www.google.com/ig/dell
Click ton another tab, and then again to Gaming
Idiots - qazew, on 10/12/2007, -0/+18if that is the case....then UberPenisPump bought out 1up.com also
http://www.uberpenispump.1up.com/ - Zachariacd, on 10/12/2007, -5/+20Fake. Bury.
- xXShadowstormXx, on 10/12/2007, -0/+7Ewwwwwwwwwwwww.
- l4wl, on 10/12/2007, -0/+5WTF would you pay for EGM for? You can pile on years of free subscriptions sooooo easily.
- Spr0k3t, on 10/12/2007, -0/+5OMG! Firefox (Mozilla) bought out Google!!!?!
http://www.google.com/firefox - djSyndrome, on 10/12/2007, -3/+8No, you didn't.
- morningblur, on 10/12/2007, -0/+4Um... it is the exact same thing, actually. Both sites are hosted on the 3rd party's servers. If it were 1up.dell.com it would be almost a sure thing.
- TroubleInMind, on 10/12/2007, -0/+4hahaha. that's funny. seriously.
- DanAtkinson, on 10/12/2007, -0/+3It does seem that way. There's no real evidence.
Even dell.1up.com has the pre-existing copyright stuff at the bottom, which indicates Ziff is the owner. dell.1up.com is just a rebranding page, and nothing more.
Bury this story now while it's still young. - morningblur, on 10/12/2007, -0/+3Guys be careful what you say about this blog! They have powerful connections! Apparently they are owned by Nintendo, Microsoft, Sega, Hudson/NEC AND Sony!
Evidence: wii.destructiod.com, xbox.destructoid.com, xbox360.destructoid.com, ps3.destructoid.com, etc. etc.!
How could we have not heard of this amazing team up?! - CornStarch, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2Actually got dead on.
- Fritzed, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2According to this logic, Dell just bought Yahoo Music too.
http://music.yahoo.com/dell/?&hl=en&client=dell-inc&channel=us - saska, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2*chuckles* You know there's a webmaster somewhere going "huh? redirects from http://www.uberpenispump.1up.com"?
Horsepuckey, that's what this submission is. - laurentlasalle, on 10/12/2007, -1/+3© 2002-2006 Ziff Davis still... Why assume anything before getting the FACTS?!
- morningblur, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2@mediaphile
Clear your cookies and visit 1up again - jonester, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1WTF, Dell didn't buy them. See no 'logo' nothing in Firefox, Mozilla, or IE... cleared cache, cookies, everything! This is *****...
- nboothe, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1Yeah, as so many of you have pointed out by now, it's a partner deal. I work at 1UP and worked on this deal with Dell. I have to admit that the comments on Destructoid and here on Digg are pretty funny. Thankfully the Digg crowd seems to be quite a bit more savvy in gauging what's going on. If you go to the gaming tab of the Dell portal, you'll get the Dell branded version of 1UP on that page and all subsequent 1UP pages until you close your browser or clear your cookies. We're excited to partner with a quality company like Dell to provide their users with a quality gaming portal while getting the 1UP name out to new users.
- Dabellah, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1It's called a promotional. I set up retail machines all the time, and Gateway has a google pact. It brings up a google home page that is personalized with the Gateway logo on it too. This is just that same type of rebranding for advertisements. Dell will probably put this as the home page to their gamer rigs so that people will see 1up and potentially use it.
- superal1394, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1its probably just a promotional thing, on the XPS machines probably
- defectDS, on 10/12/2007, -1/+2Or even just http://www.1up.com/. What is going on?
- Ocelot13, on 10/12/2007, -1/+2um, what does apple have to do with EGM and dell? honestly, i want to know....
- andytheidiot, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1Simply a cobranding. It sets a cookie the first time you visit it. You see this sort of thing a lot when you keep the default home pages and stuff on your new computer. Buried at Inaccurate.
(FYI: I don't keep the default home pages) - nethenm, on 04/01/2008, -1/+2marked as inaccurate
- verifex, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1You'd think the destructoid guy would know about something like this, uhh hello it's pretty obvious it's just a rebranding page, nothing to do with who owns it. I know it's difficult to pay attention but if you look at the bottom of 1up.com you'll see who it's owned by.
- diggersf, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1Sloppy Reporting 101: 1UP Bought By Dell?
http://vgmwatch.com/?p=1099 - timmyt, on 10/12/2007, -1/+2It's called sponsorship.
Buried as inaccurate. It continues to baffle me why people continue to digg stories without reading the actual article or comments first. - jedioniram, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1Yeah it's "Real" alright, cause it can have the Dell logo up there, and when you click on Music it loads up Yahoo Music branded by Dell, and clicking on Photos loads up Corel's site branded by Dell.
So they bought both Corel and Yahoo too.
/sarcasm.
I can't believe this was posted without anyone looking into it at all, I imagine this dell branded version has been around for a while... - TroubleInMind, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1I boycott Dell until they have more articles about TurboGrafx16. Or re-hire the weed smoking dude. He was funny.
- KrazyA1pha, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1Are you serious, mastershake1?
...because you just did the same thing ... - Caboose2, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1Inaccurate. As m3mm0n posted earlier, until an official press release, forget it, it's a load. Hopefully one of the staffers of 1UP/EGM will comment on this on a blog. Until then, I'm proclaiming shenanigans on Dell buying 1UP.
- Protoss, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1Anyone try going to http://wii.1up.com, same rebranding, yet...not at dell.1up.com.
- mediaphile, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1damn, cookies and cache were the culprits. should've thought of that.
- octopi, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1@DefectDS - clear your cache/cookies. everything'll be better.
- bjohns, on 10/12/2007, -1/+1Whoa, slow down. What does this have to do with apple?
- dlinn, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0lol nice reportage
- washcapsfan37, on 10/12/2007, -0/+0Marked as highly inaccurate.
If you go to http://www.dell.com/html/us/google/partner.html you'll see the same header and tabs. Clicking on the "Home" tab takes you to http://www.google.com/ig/dell Obviously Dell didn't buy Google. They are just partners (there's also a http://www.google.com/ig/gateway ). Clicking on the "Gaming" link takes you to http://dell.1up.com It's just a partnership they set up so people with new Dell computers could see a Dell-branded version of various sites. I bet there are plenty more. - mediaphile, on 10/12/2007, -1/+1Really? You guys are all serious? I mean, none of you bothered to go to plain ol' http://www.1up.com/ to check for yourselves?
- kasted, on 10/12/2007, -2/+1you die now
- chicken101, on 10/12/2007, -3/+1Another one bites the dust.....maybe.
- adidax, on 10/12/2007, -4/+2Probably not bought, just an extended advertising partner or something like that.
- mediaphile, on 10/12/2007, -4/+2@greekgoat91:
how about just typing http://www.1up.com/ into your browser. welcome to dell. - mastershake1, on 10/12/2007, -2/+0Your comment buried for attention whoring. We don't care that you buried the story. Why is your opinion so farking important?
- cap11235, on 10/12/2007, -6/+4*bury me*
- TroubleInMind, on 10/12/2007, -3/+1flagged as pewp.
- CornStarch, on 10/12/2007, -4/+2This is some kind of elaborate hoax by the ***** at Destructoid to get publicity. Follow these instructions:
1. Click on the tabs at the top of the dell.1up page and it will take you to the dell site where the 1up stuff disappears.
2. Click on the 1up links and the dell stuff disappears.
They just took elements from the dell and 1up sites and put them together. - octopi, on 10/12/2007, -3/+1No, the site is under 1up's domain, not Dell's. Why doesn't something like hp.1up.com work? Besides, they had to refix the title esepcially for this page, the title says "Dell and 1UP.com" not just your standard "1UP.com."
-
Show 51 - 59 of 59 discussions



What is Digg?