Sponsored by Best Buy
The camera starts rolling on Best Buy holiday campaign. view!
www.youtube.com/bestbuy - A behind the scenes look at one employee’s singing debut.
53 Comments
- Yez70, on 10/12/2007, -3/+8This is spam.
It's an affiliate program offer that has been around for over 5 years. I've promoted it legitimately before myself.
Using digg to make money is not the way to go about this. - Raz75, on 10/12/2007, -2/+6because they are.
http://digg.com/users/MindsEye/news/commented
http://digg.com/users/r0LL0/news/commented
http://digg.com/users/alyeska41/news/commented
http://digg.com/users/stoico/news/commented
http://digg.com/users/DizzNet/news/commented
http://digg.com/users/ScottU/news/commented - jhnewt, on 10/12/2007, -2/+5Why do these comments sound like advertisements?
- Oneof42, on 10/12/2007, -0/+3I am really struggling to understand the reaction from the regular "diggers" and the animosity towards a whole new group who have come and registered to promote a competition which would benefit a lot of people who are into their photography:
Surely more traffic towards digg is good?
And I have to admit that when I saw the outline rules for one of the competitions a while ago I did directly accuse the site admin of attempting a rights grab on the images - but the copyright remains directly with the photographer, believe me - if I thought that this was in any way infringing my copyright held on any of my images then I wouldn't let my images anywhere near this site.
1.42 - blarger, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2thebassman, fyi, you can post talent based contests for free over at www.youcontests.com.
- AhmedF, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2Ahh Digg mob - always so fast and furious and mob-likeish.
- thebassman, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2How is that any different than putting a "digg this" chicklet on your site? Holy crap... pull your head out of your ass.
- Oneof42, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2Maybe because we are all passionate about photography and like to share?
Hmmmm - can't help some people! - mitrebox, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2I think we just found a prime example of Digg Farming.
"and its oh so easy" - Raz75, on 10/12/2007, -0/+2It's not so much that it's a free photography contest (nothing wrong with that, I'm a photographer myself)....we're busting your balls because you obviously tried to take advantage of Digg and got caught doing it.
And you're being an ***** about it too, so you just got added to my ignore list. Dick. - thebassman, on 10/12/2007, -1/+3This isn't an affiliate program... you're thinking of picture.com... this is the first time PhotographyCorner.com is running a contest like this... and yes, obviously some of the diggs and comments are from people from the site who are not regular diggers.
- sphinx13, on 10/12/2007, -1/+3This is bull ***** spam.
Keep it off of digg. - thebassman, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1How am I trying to take advantage of digg? By encouraging people to digg the story on my site with a digg chicklet?
- moonaust, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1The rules state that by submitting a photo (Just by submitting...not winning) the web site has the rights to publish and use all photographs for advertising FREE OF CHARGE. This is just a ploy to get alot of free photos to use for themselves. I Hope for everyone's sake that enters, tha this is completely legit. But I am hoplessly pessimistic.
- thebassman, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1As a professional photographer myself, how is submitting a photo via email ridiculous? How else would someone enter an online photo contest?
- moonaust, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1As a professional photographer, the thought of judging a contest based on an email attachment is ridiculous. Other than the sponsors, this whole thing looks very shady.
- DizzNet, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1Ok, I would like to say that the accounts are not duplicates. I for myself have been meaning to get a digg acount for a while now, and now I decided to finally get one. If you go to photographycorner.com and check the members list you will find me with the name Dizzee
And if you look up
MindsEye
Oneof42
r0LL0
alyeska41
stoico
DizzNet
ScottU
you can also see that they are individual acounts on photogrpahycorner.com and most of them are premier members... now why would someone register multiple times and buy over 5 premier memberships acounts? please explain that to me and stop saying that this is spam and a scam. If you dont want the prizes, dont enter. - thebassman, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1Yes, we will use some of the photos in advertisements for the site... and obviously the photos entered will be published in the galleries... This is 100% legit... bookmark it and visit. If I wanted a bunch of nice photos to use on the site, there are easier and cheaper ways of getting them then running a large contest. ;)
- m00dy, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1bull ***** prizes take them and shove them up your ass, give a photographer 4 k in cash or a canon 5d, but dont flood them with that crap
- Oneof42, on 10/12/2007, -1/+2IMHO I think it's better to be restricting the amount of post processing that can be done - in that way it's a chance to see who gets the better photograph and not who is better in Photoshop:
It's not going to be just the PS newbs battling it out . . . believe me, there will be PS maestros who just won't be going to town with the post processing! - garyfranz, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1WoW!!!!!!!!!!!!!11111111111111111eleven!!!!!!11111111111111111111
- Raz75, on 10/12/2007, -1/+2http://digg.com/users/thebassman/news/submitted
- micklerlop, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1stupid $250 cash for 1st prize. i can get that in an hour... maybe :p
- thebassman, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1It's a free photography contest....
way to go oh faithful diggers... you've saved the world from knowing about a contest - thebassman, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1Yeah, they were all over us like a fat kid on a smartie. ;)
- thekak, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1LoL bieber, you obviously don't get that no camera or film on earth has the same dynamic range (or even within 6 stops close) of the human eye.
- thebassman, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1Check out the contest before you mock... it's not at all a scam... doesn't cost any money to enter... all you have to do is join the forum (free).
- diggless, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1this is what i thought they were doing, I read the rules and the photographer keeps the rights.
as a photographer I would enter my work in this contest if i was eligible, because I keep my rights. - Daniel591992, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1Heh, I actually laughed out loud :)
Good thing digg killed the site :) - djdigital, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1Spam, then they will start stealing you pictures on Flickr.
I bet they offer you a copy of the book in the mail with your "winning" picture also. - richsipe, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1..and OJ didn't do it and Michael Jackson likes women... Don't worry we all believe you.
- nreynolds, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1no... he's not a spammer... he just REALLY likes pictures...
- bieber, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1If you have to bracket the scene and use HDR compositing to get a decent image, then either you haven't figured out how to use fill-in flash yet, or you just suck. The point of a photography is to see who can take the best photograph, not who can doctor photos the best.
- inactive, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1he used user/ submitter
http://www.usersubmitter.com/
and heres a feed showing what story to digg (his story is the one right now)
http://www.usersubmitter.com/users/feed/7c98fd77ee8cea1ad4940a0c4535e8b4 - thebassman, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1Thanks for actually reading before posting. :)
- thebassman, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1I have no idea what you're talking about... I've never used that service.
- Raz75, on 10/12/2007, -0/+1Well, however it got to the front page, it worked because it got dugg over a hundred times in ten minutes.
But it's off the front page now, so kudos to everyone who flagged it. We know what to look for, so let's keep an eye out for stuff like this, folks... - dnthomps, on 10/12/2007, -3/+3Sweet. We get Spam comments with our Spam stories now. Gotta love it!!
- diggless, on 10/12/2007, -1/+1At first I thought this was like other contests, just a way to fleece the rights of entrants work. However all they want is the right to display the photo on the site and they specifically say you keep the copyright.
I am surprised - thekak, on 10/12/2007, -2/+2No HDR images. Lame. This is for PS newbs to duke it out.
- thebassman, on 10/12/2007, -1/+1Thanks! ;)
- MindsEye, on 10/12/2007, -2/+2Not at all lame!!!!! This is where your photography will shine at its best!
It is the art form of the photographer, not the art form of digital imaging. A challenge for that one shot that came out of the camera where you sit back and say: "wow.... I got it just right" - skwead, on 10/12/2007, -2/+1wtf. spam.
- sphinx13, on 10/12/2007, -2/+1Yeah, by posting this on digg you broke the site.
- lalusr, on 10/12/2007, -2/+1so huge the site went down
- stoico, on 10/12/2007, -2/+0Anyone who enjoys photography should jump on this...it's an easy way to win money for a picture!!!! And the judges are members, people just like you and me. What have you got to lose? Do it!
- ScottU, on 10/12/2007, -2/+0This site rocks! Over $14,000.00 in prizes this time! Wow!!
PS newbs? That's funny! Obviously you haven't checked out some of the work on Photography Corner. You really should. I think you might be surprised at some of the talent that hangs around there.
Good luck to everyone! - alyeska41, on 10/12/2007, -3/+1wow.. this is an amazing contest... the prizes are incredible.. gotta go look for a photo to enter... :)
- r0LL0, on 10/12/2007, -3/+1Wow, this sounds awesome...looking forward to it
- DizzNet, on 10/12/2007, -3/+0best photo site on the net! cant wait to see who wins this baby!
-
Show 51 - 53 of 53 discussions



What is Digg?